10th - 13th July 2012 (Coral Bay)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Coral Bay
July 13th 2012
Published: July 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

DAYS ON THE ROAD = 13


It's been a couple of days since my last blog, I don't know where the time has gone, so I thought I'd place fingers to keys and keep you updated on our adventures.

Weather is still divine, had abit of rain a couple of nights ago but nothing that washed us away.

Tuesday and Wednesday we chilled out around the caravan park and I managed to pound those pavements down to the boat ramp to try and lose some of those calories consumed whilst enjoying a lovely sundowner or three. It's a hard life I'm sorry to say but someone has to do it!

Thursday we went 4WD and snorkelling with another couple we've met at the park (Marcus and Claire). This was our first time out 4WD after our course so we were excited to do it ourselves and to see whether we remembered everything we were taught. It was also really good to go with another couple who had done 4WD before.

We set off with Charles at the wheel and not before too long we were on the sand, travelling along the coastal access 4WD road to the Lagoon, we managed to drive her (my car) up a steep sand hill which was great and the girls were shouting out "this is awesome". The Lagoon was beautiful and we headed off again along the sand tracks to Oyster Bridge, we pulled the car onto the beach and setup along this beautiful setting. We also managed to use our car awning for the first time which was really easy to erect and provided much needed shade. We all went in for a snorkel and saw quite a few fish. As the wind was up it was abit cool when you got out so Charles and I enjoyed a much deserved beer. The girls took their boogie boards up a sand hill and had a race down which they were absolutely thrilled about, another first for the day. I then challenged Charles to a race down the hill but first of all we had to get up there. Geez my thighs were burning, but it was worth it as I kicked Charles' butt down that hill and finished first.....

The couple we went with also raced down the hill to many a giggles and sneaky tactics my Marcus who pushed Claire off her board to get down first. It was then the finals between Marcus and I, but after struggling up the hill I lost coming down to yet another push off by Marcus and coming down backwards on my board. Alot of fun was had by all.

Absolutely pooped we headed home to get ready for a 50th Birthday (Vicky) celebration with a whole bunch of friends. The night was fun but we were all shattered and welcomed our bed with a great sigh.

Today is full of washing, again and lodging that tax in hope of a return. hmmmm don't hold out much hope but we'll see. I also managed to get a run in. The girls have decided to stay around the van but are now chomping at the bit to get out, Charles the good husband that he is, has decided to take them down to the 3.30pm daily fish feeding to calm them down and give me a breather whilst I finish the washing, making beds and having some timeout.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb