A Fistful of Dollars


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
June 4th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DAY 209

I had an excellent nights sleep as I was so tired from yesterday, my hair resembled that of Kate Bush in the 1980’s, for those of you who remember Kate Bush, as I had gone to bed with my hair wet.

Andy was up early as usual and the kettle was on, I was out of bed before 7.00 but before I did anything else I got one load of washing in the machine. The laundry was already busy, people get up early here to do things before it gets to hot, but luckily for me there was one machine available. I could not do anymore than one load as I was completely out of dollar coins.

It seems like everything needed doing this morning, such as shopping, so for breakfast we had fruit and yoghurt. The camp kitchen on this site is quite a walk so could not be bothered to go and make toast up there. During breakfast we spoke to Margaret and John (Stuckey) they are camped behind us, they asked me how my photography day went yesterday so I told them all about it.

After a shower, which put my wild hair to rights, we beetled around camp for a bit, checking our vegetable box to see what we needed to replenish, we also went through our food bin in the trailer to see what we needed to replenish there, making a list of groceries that we needed to pick up in Woolworths and as we were putting tins back in our food bin just giving everything a bit of a dust down as things are getting a little bit covered in the red dirt, even packed away in a box in the trailer.

Making sure the washing was hanging on the line we then popped into town, for a wander around and do some chores like go to the bank, in the bank I asked for $30 of $1.00 coins, I saw a smile flicker across the face of the teller, she says “do you have some washing to do?” I laughed and said, “How can you tell? Its never ending and I never seem to have enough $ coinsl”

The trouble is that most campsites need 3 $1 coins for the washing machines and I always seem to be scrabbling around, most of the time finding enough for just one wash. The problem is now that I am equipped with plenty of dollar coins I expect the campsites will need $2 coins.

We had a nice lunch washed down with a skinny latte, then we returned to camp for an afternoon of cooking food to put in the fridge for the next couple of days, I got my second load of washing done and on the line drying in the hot Broome afternoon, we also lounged around reading for a while, I am still reading Diamonds and Dust, which is now difficult to put down as I am so close to the end. I have to say I think Sheryl McCorry is one tough cookie, life on a station was tough.

I picked up the mobile and realised that we had a message, it seems that I left my hat in the Troopy yesterday, so a little bit later on when we went to check if our UHF radio had arrived back, we popped into the photographic gallery to pick it up. The bad news is that our UHF radio has not yet been returned, it has left Adelaide under Priority posting but needs to be tracked down.

It looks like we may be leaving town without it, Richard has promised to send it to Kununarra so that we can pick it up at the post office on our way through.

When we put the kettle on for a cup of tea, we find that we are out of gas, so no cup of tea and the camp kitchen is just to far to be convenient and as we had lunch today neither of us are really hungry so we will only have a sandwich or cheese and biscuits for tea tonight.

I had some shells that I sorted through, i.e. those that I wanted to keep, but the ones that I did not want I wanted to return to their natural environment so after tea we drove down to Cable Beach, it was a ¾ moon so was fairly bright, we went for a nice moonlit walk along the beach, the tide was coming in, on the edge of the water near the rocks, I emptied the bag of shells and watched as the water quickly came up and reclaimed them as her own.

It was beautiful to stand on the beach looking at the stars and listening to the waves lapping on the shore, sad really that we are leaving tomorrow, but we have been in this area for nearly 2 weeks now so it is time to move on.

Back at camp, I wrote up the blog for yesterday and luckily for us Margaret gave us a flask of hot water so that we could have a cup of tea. While we were sat there, I heard a noise like someone had dropped something and out of the darkness came the words “oh sh*t!” I did not pay too much attention because I could not see anything, then I saw from the light of a caravan nearby two women, one was brushing herself off, I heard a man say to her “are you allright?” I then heard her cursing the people who had strung their tent ropes across from the tent to the tree, but the pitch was in complete darkness as they had gone up to Cape Leveque for the night. The man said to her “Well, you should not walk through other people’s sites, they are entitled to string their ropes across to secure the tent.” She did not sound to happy about this, but had to accept that.

It is a general rule on these campsites that you should not walk across someone else’s pitch as it is effectively “their home” and walking across it is an intrusion.

Andy went to bed early, he was exhausted, as he had not had his Nana Nap this afternoon. I finished writing the blog and as it was still fairly early I hopped into bed to get comfy and finish reading Diamonds and Dust.

It was fairly warm, but a little cooler tonight. I finished reading the book and put the lights out, through the mosquito net above me I could make out the stars in the sky, well ok, the blobs in the sky as I was not wearing contact lens.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.709s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 23; qc: 203; dbt: 0.5109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb