Lachlan the Crocodile Hunter


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Albany
January 1st 2011
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Our last day in Albany dawned sunny and still and stayed that way all day, just to prove me wrong. We're in Esperance now and maybe finally I'll get some internet and get all this stuff posted, back to Albany first. After breakfast Belinda and Zali decided to duck into town to stock up for the next few nights which would be spent in the bush, in typical Belinda fashion a quick duck turned into a four hour epic and money spent in shops she shouldn't have been in. Saying that however and in her defence she only buys bargains, just a lot of them.

Lachlan and I made good use of our time, firstly going for a nice ride down a gravel road by the Kalgan River, lots of skids and the occasional jump. Then we rode on down to the bridge on the main road crossing the river, we were able to watch some swallows flying about underneath the bridge before we spent a good half hour amusing ourselves by throwing rocks at the sea snails from distance, good boy stuff.

By the time we rode back to camp we had managed to use up 1.5hrs and so we snacked and sat before I showed Lachlan a good exercise for improving photography. I let him use my little 1000D for this, he was most chuffed, the exercise is basically, choose an object to photograph and then take 30 photos of it making each one different. By doing this it makes you really look at something and get the best out of it for photos purposes, plus it's quite fun and we spent a couple of hours doing this while we waited for the girls to get home.

After a late lunch we decided to check out Two Peoples Bay, I never did find out where it got it's name but it certainly gave me a pleasant surprise. Once again the waters down this way were amazing, all the bays and beaches have this water that is almost glacial in colour, so blue and clear it is awesome, then you add the white sand and these bizarre rock formations and just about every beach and bay stops you in your tracks. I've only seen water like this in two other places, the Glacial rivers of New Zealand and out on the Great Barrier Reef.

I got a great picture of Two Peoples Bay and then another of Little Beach, which is the beach next door to the bay (again you need to check my website). I got in trouble off Zali for always wanting to take photos, I tried to explain that I'll never make a living from photography if I don't take photos but she insists she could just draw everything for me, a budding artist.

While Zali is a budding artist, Lachlan thinks he's the next Steve Irwin. There is a lot of King Skinks around Two Peoples Bay and as we came across one and stopped to check him out Lachlan informed us in all seriousness that he could probably catch it if he wanted. When I called him Steve Irwin and told him to go ahead he laughed so hard he nearly scared it off, then when he took a step toward it to catch it, it took one look at him and disappeared into the sword grass.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb