Homeward Bound


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
July 13th 2012
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -38.1, 145.717

By 6am we were dressed, had managed to squeeze everything into our suitcases, obviously tired and were in the bus to go to the airport; despite having more people than seats on the bus and another bus just sitting there not being used, we were off to the airport which was 10 minutes away. We grabbed a trolley for our bags and went to stand in queue (Nana please take note): The check-in and internet check-in counters were lined up with only one queue which was very long. Five minutes after joining the queue I went for a walk to see if we could cut the queue because we were internet check-in. With no luck, I went back and sent mum off. The internet check-in counter was roped off a few meters in front so no one could cut the queue (we think). Mum had asked someone and came back to get me and our luggage. The man tried to unhook the rope but with no success so lifted it up for us and we went straight through - there was no queue. After seeing what we had done, a few other people joined. When we arrived at the airport, we saw this HUGE statue – it must have been 15 – 20 metres long. Too big to fit in a photo! It was based on a Hindu story - "This statue reveals more clearly Devas and Asuras on a par, tugging Mt Meru as churning stick, atop of which stands Vishnu balancing the action in the centre, his turtle Avatar Kurma below, asuras and devas to left and right".

We went through customs with no problems but despite my arguing we were quickly running out of time. Mum was stressed and walking really fast, which I can't do with my back but again despite my attempts to slow her down, she wouldn't listen. We went to Burger King for breakfast, even if we did have chips and lemonade. By the time we reached our gate there weren't many others there but I still wanted to go to the toilet as we hadn't passed any and we both had to take tablets. We boarded the plane and were sitting next to an Indian man, who seemed confused and angry when we asked him to move so we could sit together (we book the isle and window seat hoping no one will sit in-between us and we'll have an extra seat). Fifteen minutes after the plane was due to leave an announcement went over saying we were waiting for two passengers, who certainly weren't in any hurry when they finally boarded. It was another fifteen minutes before there was a spot on the runway for us so we left for Melbourne half an hour late.

Our flight was full and there were only two toilets accessible by us, unless we wanted to walk right down the back and through the galleys meaning people were rude and pushy trying to skip the queue but not to worry, mum and I were just as pushy to defend our spots. I don't know who people think they are. For breakfast we had quiche, fruit, bacon and potatoes which, unlike our flight over, was inedible. No one around us ate any more than a few bites which says something about the quality. Mum and I both slept for about four hours which made the flight go very fast. (No Dad, I'm not being racist, I just want to look back and remember it how it was) They say that 20%!o(MISSING)f the world's population are Indians and 20%!w(MISSING)ould be just under the percentage of Indians who were on our flight, but I can't quite work out why, there's no cricket and neither Melbourne or Bangkok are famous for their Indian population or landmarks.

Lunch was of the same quality as breakfast except everyone from a few seats behind to the very front of us (60 people) got no choice but to have prawns and not one person was happy about it, I felt sorry for the flight attendants but some of them had had enough and were being just as rude if not more back. I'm not sure how but I got chicken afterwards, possibly because I'm young (?) without complaining, but if I was one of the attendants I wouldn't give it to someone who was rude.

It was so nice to land and hear Aussie accents - it seems silly but it was really nice. There wasn't one worker who was rude or grumpy, which is always good! I was horrified to get off the plane and see the big sign saying the Border Security were filming today, thinking 'I can not be filmed - I look horrible!' Luckily we weren't, but I don't think we've been at the airport when they haven't been filming. We had to go through quarantine because of my fan and we had vegemite and biscuits but they weren't interested in either so it didn't take long at all.

The Jetport van was waiting when we got out so we were on the highway by 10:15, which isn't bad considering we arrived just after 9pm. We stopped at Maccas for something to eat. To top off our amazing holiday I got home to a letter from school saying that I've been accepted to do acceleration next year!.

Thank-you very, very much Nana and Pa, it's seriously the experience of a lifetime. We were so lucky with everything (especially the Gibbons) and it will mean so much to me looking back on our holidays together in the future remembering all the times, memories and experiences we shared together. I am incredibly lucky to have both of you as my grandparents; I hope you feel the same. xoxo



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



15th July 2012

We did enjoy your company and comments in the travel podWe miss you both.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb