The Great Ocean Road.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
March 16th 2017
Published: March 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After Waking up in my camper after the first night I must say that i slept really well in the campa, I ate some of my sausages I had saved from the night before and headed towards the showers.


I had a nice shower and used my towel that came with the camper!! yay towels aha.
After getting ready and saying bye to everyone I headed onto the road to start the Great Ocean Road.
To be honest to describe the beauty of the great ocean road i'd have to do it through pictures so go and check them out too!


After driving for about 15 minutes I had my first stop at some beach where the cliffs looked amazing. The roads are quite bendy and go up and down a lot.
There is loads of greenery by the road and everything is just so beautiful, especially the part between Lorne and Apollo Bay.
I came along quite a few sights which made me get out of the campa to take some pictures. At some point I reached a lighthouse up on top of a hill, I parked my campa there and headed up towards the lighthouse. After taking loads of pictures of the lighthouse and the views from up there some people came up to me and asked if could take there picture. They were 2 germans visiting a friend that was local around here. The local man asked where I was headed and I explained I was doing the Great Ocean Road as to which he asked how far I was going, I told him I had no idea. He mentioned that going up to Warrnambool will probably be the best, It's quite a way out but after that the road heads more inland and it gets a lot less spectacular. I thanked him for the advice and headed back towards my campa.

I continued my drive towards grey river road which according to my app Camper Mate is a great spot to see Koala's, I rolled up and there were a bunch of people pointing at the trees. I quickly parked my campa and headed over there. And there he was, quite the adorable little guy just sitting in the tree. My first Wild Koala, I couldn't get the best pictures of him as he was quite high and covered by branches and I only have a phone to take pictures with but O well haha I saw a wild Koala.

After I saw the koala I headed back on the road and made a couple more stops on iconic places to take a bunch of pictures until I arrived at Apollo Bay. As it was getting around 16:00 I decided to call it a day and do the rest tomorrow, I used my Camper Mate App to locate a camping ground and headed over there.

Once I arrived there the woman was very friendly and allowed me to stay at the place for 20 Dollars instead of 28 so I've been quite lucky up until now with camping areas (I do hope to go to some free ones soon).

I parked my campa on my spot and walked towards Apollo Bay, They have a beautiful harbour there and the beach is huge. I went in to some gift shop had a look around and went towards the information centre. Gathered some booklets on what to do in the area and headed back to my campa as I was getting hungry.

Whilst I was boiling some milk to make porridge with a motor cycle came up and parked by the tent next to me. I can remember quite well thinking well great some hells angels guy that thinks he's the man. Obviously I was to early to judge and greeted the man friendly while he took off his helmet and gear. While I was eating my porridge I watched him attempt to cook an egg on his little stove, I asked him if he needed some help and one thing led to the other and we got talking.

He ended up successfully making his egg but it took quite some time. After we had both eaten and done our dishes I walked over him and said "We've never introduced, My Name is Robin" as to which he replied his name was Nino.

Nino is a semi local man he comes from the north of Melbourne and has got a week away from work so came to Apollo Bay, put his tent there and is riding around seeing the area. He went for an evening beach walk and asked if I wanted to come along so I did. we walked over the beach and climbed over the rocks that are normally covered by the ocean. It's quite amazing as every day at some point the tide goes back and some water gets stuck in between those rocks and there are complete eco systems just in there. Plants, little fish, crabs you name it. It was a cool sight, we walked to the end of that beach where a rock wall was so we climbed that. Behind the rock wall there was the harbour I saw earlier with all the boats just chilling in the ocean.

We stood on top of the rocks for a while just staring into the ocean and decided to head back.
Once we arrived back at the camp area I decided it was time for a nice cup of tea and offered Nino one.

We sat there having a cup of tea while looking at the starts which he could tell me a lot about. He also has some kind off app some some how you can point to the sky and it can tell you exactly which star is which, quite amazing really.
After we sat looking at stars for a little while we both headed to our own beds and got some sleep.

This will be where I end this blog. Thanks again for reading.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb