Last day of the Great Ocean Road trip


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
January 30th 2015
Published: January 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast was at the beach this morning which was a lot easier to get to than the Pinnacle but still a lovely view to have in the morning. We visited the main landmarks along the Great Ocean Road: London Bridge and Loch Ard Gorge. Loch Ard Gorge was my favourite because it was in a little cove and there was hardly anybody on that beach when we were there. The sea is the most beautfiul shade of blue I just want to dive in but the waves are too strong and crash into the rocks. The drive up until lunch time was all along the coast and I sat in the front of the bus so I had a perfect view. We stopped in a town called Lorne for lunch which was a really cool town. It was on the beach of course but also had a public pool and lots of shops and cafes along the beach front.

The drive after lunch was about 3 hours to Melborune but it was so cool driving into the city because we could see the sky scrapers from quite far away as we headed towards them. Ben dropped us near to Flinders Street station where I got the tram. It took about 25 minutes to get down to St Kilda and when I got there I realised I had no idea where my hostel was, uh oh! I found a free wifif hotspot so I managed to look up the address and then I asked somebody which way to go so managed to find it pretty easily. As I crossed the road to the hostel I bumped into a girl from Newport, Kennedy, who is staying in the same hostel, how random!

I checked in, went to my room and instantly got talking with three girls in my room- 2 Aussies and a Brit. We went down to the bar for dinner because they were doing $5 pizzas and drinks. We had a couple of drinks and then went for a walk along the beach. We thought there was a festival or something going on but that starts tomorrow so we just went back to the hostel as the aussie girls have to get up early tomorrow to fly to Tasmania.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb