Are Australians Fat?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
July 10th 2009
Published: December 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

OK, the big shopping trip. Well not being an experienced or fan of shopping this was never going to be my favourite day ever, but sure is a good way of getting to know the city!

Australian size clothes are big. I guess your average Aussie is bigger than us little English folk or perhaps I shrank after finally having a good wash. Extra small shirt size and size 9 shoes instead of 10/11's! Shoes here (as Rick completely agreed) are just weird, all fat at the back so your foot falls out, but I digress. Wednesday night was planned out as a quiet one after I had to send my new trousers (pants) off to get altered and so couldn't job hunt on Thursday, thereby freeing up a day that I could sight see. What actually happened was I ended up doing international drinking games with about 10 people from the guesthouse in the kitchen, got nicely drunk and went off out to a bar somewhere in the city with a couple of Swedes and an English guy. Still don't know where that bar is. Lots of pool playing and copious numbers of beer jugs that the others relentlessly kept on buying led to an epically hung-over Alan on Thursday for a day of doing absolutely jack-all!

I did finally meet up with Rick and Emma (Cambo, Laos & Kuala Lumpur chums), they've been here for a month now and have a really nice 12th storey flat with an amazing view over the south of the city. Both have well paid jobs and are loving it here. We did a mini-bar crawl after chowing down some Mexican and on Thursday once I was semi-recovered from Wednesday's madness introduced me to two of their new friends here for a quiet drink.

Today I have kitted myself out with all the gear, tidy black trousers, decent shirt, tie, Jakarta 5 quid jacket (ahem, it looks nice ok?!) and the new shoes and wandered to a couple of the temp agencies. Scored very high on both typing tests, probably thanks to writing this blog, and hopefully, HOPEFULLY I will get a call Monday sometime about work. Friday being the end of the week is a terrible day to look for work as they've all gone!

Anywho, I will post a pic of me in all the new gear sometime, it's definitely a system shock but a really good one.

This city is very modern as I've said and seemingly really young, as soon as I've gone out with my camera I'll pop some pics up of the trams zooming past and the fantastic architecture that fills many of the streets.

So long as I get work next week, it's all good!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Federation SquareFederation Square
Federation Square

The meeting place.
Melbourne Cricket GroundMelbourne Cricket Ground
Melbourne Cricket Ground

Looks awesome! Fortunately they don't just play crappy cricket there.


Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 104; dbt: 0.254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb