Canada eh?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Warrnambool
September 10th 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

fishiesfishiesfishies

Plantasia aquarium and glasshouse in Swansea, Wales
So, now I'm off on another voyage in three weeks and a day - off to the absolute freezing bloody cold of Canada (like the blog title didn't give it away). The visa is sorted, I bought the plane ticket yesterday, and now it's just down to the minutiae of planning... do I take the tent and camping gear? do I buy work clothes her or there? Do they have Tim Tams in Canada?

This time I get a stopover on Tai Pei, making the unfortunate timing of landing in Vancouver at 9am on the third of October. I really wanted to get there at night, and hopefully see the northern lights as I come in to land, but c'est la vie ( I must practice my French before I get to the east coast).

Hello to everyone I haven't emailed in a while - I've been living the Australian life - working hard to make a living .... (for all the Jimmy Barnes fans.... for everyone else, sorry inside Australian joke...). I've been rousying (for the uninitiated, a rousy is shorthand for rouseabout, which is essentially a shearer's shedhand. I clean up as they take the fleeces off
mmmmm... cacao podmmmmm... cacao podmmmmm... cacao pod

Plantasia aquarium and glasshouse in Swansea, Wales
the sheep, throw the fleece onto a table for the woolhandlers to clean up and bale. It's dirty, smelly, sweaty and noisy, but it's pretty good fun when you're not up to your elbows in gore - on a good day it'll just be urine. On a bad day, you'll be lucky if it's sheep blood all over you, and not your own (those shears are damn sharp, as one of my fingers discovered the hard way). But the job pays well, and it's getting me to Canada, so it's all good.

I can't remember exactly where I left off with my last Travelblog. I'll go back and find out what photos I put on, and start uploading the thousands more that I took since I left Wales. Believe me, it'll take a while to go through all of the photos and pick out a few for the blog. Hopefully there'll be somthing to look at very soon. Otherwise, I'll probably updating from Canada!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

(dead?) iguana(dead?) iguana
(dead?) iguana

Plantasia aquarium and glasshouse in Swansea, Wales
banana flowerbanana flower
banana flower

Plantasia aquarium and glasshouse in Swansea, Wales
Swansea CastleSwansea Castle
Swansea Castle

Swansea, Wales
koi carpkoi carp
koi carp

Plantasia aquarium and glasshouse in Swansea, Wales
Welsh coast and lighthouseWelsh coast and lighthouse
Welsh coast and lighthouse

near Milford Haven, Wales
old bridgeold bridge
old bridge

near Milford Haven, Wales
Pembroke CastlePembroke Castle
Pembroke Castle

Pembroke, Wales
Pembroke CastlePembroke Castle
Pembroke Castle

Pembroke, Wales
Pembroke CastlePembroke Castle
Pembroke Castle

Pembroke, Wales
Pembroke CastlePembroke Castle
Pembroke Castle

Pembroke, Wales
Pembroke Castle cavePembroke Castle cave
Pembroke Castle cave

Pembroke, Wales
PembrokePembroke
Pembroke

Pembroke, Wales
Welsh roadsidesWelsh roadsides
Welsh roadsides

Pembroke, Wales
the family stomping groundsthe family stomping grounds
the family stomping grounds

Castlemartin, Wales
complete with tankscomplete with tanks
complete with tanks

Castlemartin, Wales
Welcome to WalesWelcome to Wales
Welcome to Wales

Castlemartin, Wales
lilypond wetlandslilypond wetlands
lilypond wetlands

near Castlemartin, Wales


10th September 2006

Wrap up warm
I kid you not take lots of warm clothing or plenty of money to buy some you will need it in the frozen wastelands of the north!! Glad to see that you are on your way again. Love to hear from you so keep this site up to date. Carole x
10th September 2006

We await
We await with open arms. And.... bring the Tim Tams. You haven't lived til you're munching on a beaver burger while sipping on a root beer, washing it all down with doughnuts, maple syrup and passing out in a hypergylcemic stupor under a pine tree of some sort. Yes... Canada is a land of possibilities! Get up here, hoser! Get off to the Great White North! Current temp: 9.. but dropping steadily..mooooaaaahahahaa!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb