Mornington to Warrnambool


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Warrnambool
April 15th 2018
Published: April 15th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Gidday all. Sorry for the late entry. I'm in Warrnambool at the moment.

So far Ive stopped at the Werribee treatment plant to photograph birds. Visited the Youyangs and Anekie Gorge. My first night was spent in a free camp adjacent to Brisbane ranges NP. near Anekie. The Youyangs have been on my radar for some time. As I have been seeing them from across the bay for the last 50 years. Well finally made the leap to get there. As Anne Morley has mentioned in the Royal Auto magazine there are plenty of walking and mountain bike tracks. Also the view is great. Next step was to check out Port Arlington and St Leonards. Last time I visited was a boat trip from Rye one school Holiday. Not much has changed in 40+ years.

Day 3 and I enjoyed a terrific wind swept sunrise from Queenscliff as I waited for a passenger on the ferry. My BIL has joined me for the trip. I wonder how long before he gets sick of me.Ha Ha. The weather has not been great . It hasn't stopped raining, We quickly drove through Torquay and had lunch at the Anglesea Lighthouse. As I was searching for a bird that I was told I might find there. I later found it at Erskine falls. If it wasn't raining I would of taken my camera with me. What a shame as they would of made for a good photo. The steps down were very steep and all paved with bluestone rocks. I looked up some free campsites only to find that they were closed some time ago. Ken was not too happy with his first night out in the swag. He occasionally got woken up to drips of water in the face. Today we ventured along the Great Ocean Road to the 12 Apostles. Another place I've always wanted to go to. Weather was once again against us very. very, very windy and rain. Not sure if My photos will come out. Futher along is Loch Ard gorge, which I remember having been too before as a kid. So why we didn't visit the Apostles I'm not sure.The Arch and London Bridge show how powerful the wave action is.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



15th April 2018
P4151117

Lovely photo they are all great photos stay safe
18th April 2018

Hello from the USA
Great photos Kim, To bad Tanja and I cant join you. Keep safe. I will be watching for more postings.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb