Grape picking Mildura


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Swan Hill
March 26th 2008
Published: April 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well this is the second time I’ve relocated to find fruit picking work so this time I’m in Mildura. It’s on the border between NSW & Victoria on the Murray River. It takes about 7 hours to get there from Melbourne on bus and train, but the place is really beautiful. Be nice to go there on holidays. The backpackers wasn’t real flash and the women in charge was a complete dickhead, but made some great friends. I stayed for about 10 days and worked for 3. The first day I picked Wine grapes and made $27.50 for the day, around 12. The second and third day I got a job helping to take the covers off some table grape vines. It paid by the hour so worked out not to bad. Unfortunately this job only lasted 2 days so when she offered me grape picking again on Monday I decided to take the day off. The problem was it was the end of the grape season so the vines had already been picked around 3 times so there wasn’t much left on them. Since I was being paid by the box, it was impossible to make any decent money so I decided I’d wait till Friday to see if anything else came up. If not I would collect my wage and get out of there. That’s what I ended up doing in the end. There was loads of work coming up as orange season was going to start but that would have meant waiting round for 6 weeks. Also bumped into the opening batsman from Barnsley cricket club. He had been over here for the summer playing cricket and was planning on staying out for a while. Ended up having a few beers with him and talking about the cricket. Anyway here is a few of the photo’s I took while I was there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

HuntsmanHuntsman
Huntsman

This thing must have jumped off the covers onto my leg whilst i was working, Nearly shit my pants when i saw it near my old fella.
Kareoke KingKareoke King
Kareoke King

Doing a bit of Elvis, AGAIN
Friends from MilduraFriends from Mildura
Friends from Mildura

This is Dave & Susan who i met whilst in Mildura. We were stood waiting for a taxi on Saturday night and got talking. Next day we ended up round theres for a BBQ and a few beers. Great friends who i definately want to go back to visit. This picture was from my last night, they came for a goodbye drink.


Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb