Craig and Ross in...............ISO


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Prahran
December 6th 2020
Published: December 6th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Sunday December 6, 2020

A post ISO postscript

We did it folks. Unlike almost every other jurisdiction in the world that has been battered by a second wave of Covid-19, Melbourne has emerged victorious. No cases now for several weeks. An extraordinary effort by every single one of us here, and for some, involving much hardship. We feel rightly proud. Now it’s December. State borders are open again and we are all thinking of the upcoming Christmas period with family and friends. That seemed such a distant thought in the middle of a Winter lockdown here in Victoria. It sure has been a year like no other. I do think the whole lockdown thing exposed some odd inequities in this country. Like, why was in OK for QLD to roll out the red carpet to footballers and their families, yet a Melbourne guy had such trouble getting into that state to see his dying mother? I call bullshit. And why was George Pell, once back here on Aussie soil, allowed to go back to Rome? It had to have been either a medical emergency or on compassionate grounds. Well, which one was it?

Work-wise, I had more or less no teaching the second half of the year. I was able to go into the lab to do experiments whenever I felt like it. Otherwise, I was at home writing papers etc. Pretty good, really. I must say, though, that Zoom is getting mighty tedious. On the home front, Ross continued his inventive cooking to see us through lockdown. One highlight was a Middle Eastern Mezze cake – a delicious cooked thing that was served as a meal (vegetarian – spicy, with hommus, artichokes, chilli, roasted capsicums, eggplant, onions, and a shitload of other tasty stuff). Home-made Thai crab cakes also made a delightful appearance (especially, Ross’s home-made sweet chilli and lime dipping sauce – amazing !)

Now that the lockdown has long ended, I do hope our good eating will continue.

I read that apparently at the end of the last plague in the middle ages, they celebrated with copious wine and orgies. I’m wondering, does anyone know if this is also being organised this time?

Not much else to report. Life is slowly returning to normal – well, so-called “covid normal.” There was a time, back in September, when the most startling thing to happen during the week would have been pulling off some glad wrap to see the little sticker that read “End of Roll Approaching.” Or sitting at the dinner table discussing such pressing issues as why we can’t grow coriander, or whether H R Puff’n’Stuff was homosexual. Those days are behind us, as we venture out to dinner, pubs and visiting friends. I can go looking for the elusive Pollywaffle, the 70’s chocolate bar which apparently is back in production, but I still can’t find one.

“I used Pollywaffles when I went to the local swimming pool,” said Ross.

“What?” I asked.

“I used to chuck a few in the water,” he replied. “Great way to clear the pool and have it all to myself.”

Perhaps paradoxically, based on what you might imagine, I have become fitter during lockdown. I drank less booze, and did more exercise. I’ve lost my- albeit modest - beer gut. Netflix et al. got a bit of a workout during this time. A recent highlight was David Attenborough’s definitive documentary, “A life on our Planet”. Described as the most important movie you must watch this year, it really is a pre-apocalyptic disaster flick. I was holding back a few tears when Attenborough stared down at the floor, forlorn and seemingly defeated at the plight of this world. When I look at him I see all those shows he narrated over the years. He had me transfixed and forever addicted; as a teenager, as a 35 year old, and still now as a 57 year old. And so, as a scientist, a profound nature lover and humanist, I really was moved by the program. The relentless effects of climate change have been eclipsed in the news this year by Covid. But we cannot – we must not – lose sight of it.

The long periods here at home gave me a lot of time to think about life. This was actually very useful. For me, it was an unforeseen opportunity to stop and reflect upon where I am and where I want to be headed. The passing of some people that I knew this year really brought that into focus. Life is so fragile and so very precious indeed. We must live each day with happiness, not anger, regret or worry, and be true to ourselves. This, you will recall, is a common thread in my travel blogs and I say it again now; cherish it, for it won’t last forever.

I plan on doing a few radical things next year. Daunting but worth it.

Will there be a “typical” international travel blog from me next year? I can’t say right now. I know precisely where I want to go, but stay tuned!

Love and peace everyone,

Merry Christmas. Here’s to a brighter 2021.

Craig

(p.s. scroll down for a few more photos below).


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 91; dbt: 0.1211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb