The Great Ocean Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Port Campbell
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

TorquayTorquayTorquay

Check out the fog!
First some information that may come in handy one day. Picking locks using a hairgrip does work! I spent a couple of days in Melbourne after Tasmania and one day I locked my locker key inside my locker. After a bit of effort with the hairgrip it opened; I didn't think it would actually work!!

So Friday 22nd May saw me depart Melbourne for my Great Ocean Road and Grampians tour. Departing very early (not as early as some of my later starts!) we left Melbourne where it got gradually thicker in fog, you could hardly see the car in front! Have a look of my photo of the surf shops for the fog. First stop was Torquay, home of Ripcurl and Quiksilver, lots of surf shops and great clothes here.
Along the Great Ocean Road we saw koalas in the trees. They were the first wild koalas I had seen.
The Great Ocean Road was constructed by soldiers and is a dedication to those killed in the First World War. The highlight of most trips here are the 12 Apostles, stacks in the ocean created by erosion. Reminded me of Geography at school!
We stopped and watched the sunset which was spectacular! Our accomodation that night was in Port Campbell one of the little towns along the way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



25th August 2009

12 Apostles at sunset and P1012874 are my favourite photos from this entry :)
30th August 2009

Sunset's
Hi Amy, Some loverly sunset's there! They would look great framed. Dad ps you haven't added my other comments?
2nd September 2009

I have some more amazing sunsets from the west coast to put up when I do that blog! There is a comment on the Tasmania - part 3 blog from you, that's the only one I have, did you write any more?

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb