Cutting a short story long?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Mt Dandenong
July 16th 2010
Published: July 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Morning all! Thanks for joining me again. I'm getting more and more energised about writing now, so I really appreciate your readership, and would love you to urge all your friends to give my blog a go. Speaking of energetic writing: if this one starts to feel a bit long, please skip to THE IMPORTANT BIT at the end, rather than stop reading altogether! Finally this one goes out with big hugs to my mum who just sent me a lovely message - she's an emotional sort, you know... Enjoy!


We’re engaged!



I believe that title was what the kids these days are calling a ‘spoiler’. Terribly sorry about that, but it’s just such exciting news, and hopefully the full story won’t be any the less entertaining for having its climax foretold.

The story begins (or at least I choose to begin it - history has no defined beginning and end, merely bookmarks inserted by men of letters) as Sarah and I are doing some window shopping with our friend Jasmine. She’s recently returned from England after what seems like several years of studiously avoiding summer by flitting back and forth between hemispheres, the highlight of which, I trust, was living with Sarah during our early courtship. Anyway, we walk past a shop that sells, among other things, jewellery, and Sarah pauses, points at a ring, and says: “That’s a nice ring.”

Sarah never does that. It’s not her style. This is a decidedly unusual occurrence. It’s so unusual that the story from this point forward is played out to a soundtrack of: “She knows, she knows, she practically put you up to it; you’re no more than a puppet in her Machiavellian theatre of emotional manipulation,” in a nice way, of course. My mind starts racing with thoughts of the future: of a lifetime shared; of expressing our deep commitment to each other; above all, of not having to go through the agonising self doubt of choosing the ring myself.

Conveniently, my fiancée to be’s immediate plans differ from mine and Jasmine’s, such that I am presented with a coward’s dream scenario: not only has Sarah identified a ring, but I am able to return to the scene of the event with her close friend to garner a second opinion; I am confident that this will render my own, third opinion easy to form. However, Jasmine’s cowardice outweighs even mine, and, faced with the pressure of approving my plan to make the most significant purchase of my life to date she calls Sarah’s best friend Little Sarah - introduced in previous blog entries - for a third opinion, thus relegating my own to fourth position.

To cut a long story sho- no? too late? I bought the ring. It’s a unique art deco design in yellow gold with a sapphire, four emeralds and a sprinkling of diamonds. She’s picking it up from the jeweller tomorrow, so check Facebook for photos. My next task was to get permission from Neill… or was it? You see, having had two older brothers-in-law - both fine gentlemen, by the way, and good friends - thrust upon me to compromise my beta male status in the family, and knowing how having two significantly older sisters can leave one feeling somewhat forgotten in all the excitement, despite the best efforts of those concerned, I was keen to go the extra mile and ask young Tom’s permission too.

Jasmine, however, insisted that this was a sexist approach to permission procurement, so a plan was hatched for me to ask ALL FOUR of Sarah’s immediate family - no doubt in the presence of their respective other halves where applicable - and suddenly we’re looking at eight accomplices to my previously simple plan before I’ve so much as hidden the ring! As you can see, the feline had well and truly departed the valise, so it made sense that I should report immediately to my mates in the pub and tell all of them as well. I’m sorry honey, but I was really excited...

Let’s fast forward a little, shall we? lest this become an unnecessarily epic telling of a story that could much more easily be iterated as: “Bought ring, popped question, she said yes.”

Well first the family said yes: Tom with what may have been our first hug; Holly after a week of internet silence while she was at Glastonbury; Alison during the adverts of Masterchef Australia (do you get that show over there? WHOLE other blog, trust me…) and Neill, thankfully, within hours of me calling time on a recent period of unemployment. Yes, I think: “I’m living under your roof and have no job; may I marry your daughter?” would have been audacious even by my standards…

Fast forward to Thursday July 8th (or ‘July 8’ as they say, and I mean actually say, over here: coming soon, a blog on all those little differences that get up my nose…) and as far as Sarah knows it’s ‘date night’, which happens most weeks and, while a recent edition involved watching The A Team at the pictures, I can get away with booking somewhere fancy and getting us both dressed up without raising eyebrows. Sky High is the venue, a cosy gastro joint in a remote, picturesque setting at the top of Mount Dandenong, boasting the best possible view of Melbourne’s city centre and sprawling suburbs. We’ve already been by day, and the panorama was splendid, but by night it’s better still, all looming towers and fairy lights.

It seems simple enough, then, to suggest a stroll on the outdoor terrace to enjoy the view while we wait for our appetisers. Yes, that’s right, first course. Surely I’m meant to get the scary bit out of the way so we can bask in the afterglow and enjoy our meals, right? So it goes a bit like this:

PAUL: “Lovely view out there, isn’t it?”

SARAH (casually): “Yes, lovely.”

PAUL: “Quite romantic, really, I suppose…”

SARAH (apathetically): “Yes, I suppose so.”

PAUL: “Shall we, maybe, take a stroll out on the terrace, get a closer look?”

SARAH (dismissively): “No.”

PAUL: “What?”

SARAH (calmly): “Too cold.”

PAUL: “Too cold?”

SARAH (determinedly): “WAY too cold.”

PAUL: “Are you sure you don’t want to, you know, have a nice ‘moment’ together?”

SARAH (insistently): “It’s too damn cold out there!”

PAUL (triumphantly? but also more scared than ever before): “Well then you leave me with no choice…”

At this point I drop from my chair to one knee in a swift, fluid movement. Would that I could exhibit such grace and poise at dance auditions or on the hockey pitch, godamit. Sarah, though, is absent mindedly toying with her napkin, and what little part of her consciousness has registered my quite brilliant line has inferred that I intend to venture alone onto the wind blown terrace. Therefore, when she turns to witness my new position, complete with brandished ring, and hears those four words proceed from my lips, she is more than a little taken aback.

You see, she DIDN’T know. She had no idea! When I tell you that just 24 hours previously I had inadvertently caught her on a website for art deco engagement rings you’ll tell me that I’m kidding myself and she just acted surprised to be nice, but trust me, for all her qualities, Sarah is not renowned for acting! or being nice… no, she’s good at that last one actually. This proposal genuinely knocked her for six…

…which was why Sarah didn’t answer, for what seemed like approximately seven months. It was probably less than a second in hindsight, but did she have to pause for so long? I’d be interested to learn whether all such moments possess the power to decelerate time; it’s quite the scientific anomaly. Finally though, almost apologetically, she did the decent thing and said yes.

Bear in mind that we’re in the middle of a crowded restaurant here - HER choice, not mine - and therefore consider our relief that there was no spontaneous applause, because, as fun as that looks in films, there’s actually only so much blushing that a face can endure before submitting to an embarrassing, not to mention potentially fatal arterial haemorrhage. It was marvellous, though, when the couple from the adjacent table came over to congratulate us, and later returned with glasses of pink champagne to mark the occasion. After those, and another bottle of the stuff, it had just about sunk in.

What of my plan to get it out of the way and enjoy our meals? My tempura chicken and lamb shank were fantastic, but Sarah’s stomach renounced all fortitude as she adjusted to the news - to be fair, she had some catching up to do, about 1,400 words it would seem - and two courses went virtually untouched.

NOW FOR THE IMPORTANT BIT:

The upshot of all this is that there is going to be a wedding. It’s going to be in Australia, and we want you to be there. That means YOU. My blog hasn’t quite taken off as a global phenomenon yet, and public subscribers are at a minimum, so I feel reasonably safe saying this. Put it this way: if you’re prepared to fly half way around the world and back to be with us on our special day, then you’re more than worthy of an invitation.

While I repeat that all of you are welcome, there are some of you who simply MUST come, and I like to think that you know who you are. To you especially I say: I KNOW it’s expensive; I KNOW it’s a long way; and I KNOW I won’t make it back for Si and Jess’s wedding, so who am I talk? but please, please, please save the date and save your money because to me it wouldn’t feel quite right getting married without seeing you out there grinning back at me as it happens.

What date? Ah, yes. Well, the venue isn’t booked yet, but there are a few of them vying for our attention and they’re all available on our chosen date, so, while there will be proper ‘save the date’ procedures observed in weeks to come, I think it’s safe to announce that Sarah and I will have one last argument about her refusal to take my name before tying the knot on Saturday January 7th 2012. There, that’s 18 months away, giving you plenty of time to save some pennies, plan your itinerary (World tour? Drive round Australia? Three weeks on our sofa?) and audition a few potential ‘plus ones’ before forming a durable relationship with the successful candidate in advance of the big day.

For now, I’ll leave it at that, because any mention of an emotional visit home in July next year, to include a very special engagement party for all those who can’t make it, and what I trust will go down in history as the infamous granddaddy of all previous and subsequent stag weekends, would only discourage you from booking those flights…


Advertisement



16th July 2010

Momentous occasion!
Paul as already expressed Michael and I are delighted at your news. I have put the date in the diary and will be discussing it with your Godfather on his return!!! It is so great to hear you so happy. Please send our love to your lovely fiance - love the sound of the ring - and keep a little for yourself! Sally xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
16th July 2010

I'm coming!
I'm coming la la laaaaaaaa! I don't know how but I'll be therrreeeeee wooooooooo!!! AND so you're coming back next July? Amy, Jordan and Baby Winter are due to come back June time so maybe it will overlap?! I'm actually SO EXCITED!!! Love to you both xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
16th July 2010

great story
Lovely to hear a full run down having caught snatches on Skype etc - will link your future Aunt-in-law into the blog, we're having lunch with Holly and Christian on Sunday so they can give you a real life update on Ben (not sure where he comes in the first / second / third favourite line-up!). He's currently meant to be going to sleep and keeps saying "Ben get out now mummy". Fortunately still in cot but we're going bed shopping tomorrow!! Nina xx
18th July 2010

Congratulations
Rosie told me your fantastic news last week but I enjoy reading your blog. You definately need to be a professional writer, you're very gifted (at writiing!). Many congratulations on your engagement and I hope you will be very happy together.
18th July 2010

Yay!!!!
Well done mate!!! Congratulations!!! Hope to see you in July. Rachel x
19th July 2010

Your engagement
Congrats to you both ..well done Paul and Sarah Welll a wedding in OZ ...hope I can work on Ricky . He is very busy at work in Jan. but I know he would love to return to Oz. Saw Ma and Pa and Mike and Sally at Jon Bellfiels 60th and we are all so excited for you. Sounds a really must come occasion tho' and we will do our best. We have just had 2 weeks in La Manga recovering from Katie and Tonys wedding and then I had a busy county week with my 1st Team in Berkshire so needed some r and r. Sounds as if you are enjoying life and thats the main thing ...you are a lucky man, eh. Love reading the blogs.... xxNetty
20th July 2010

Paul i love reading your blogs! i love the fine detail you go into! you should look into journalism or writing a book! in all honesty i cant understand some of the stuff you say aha! but congratulations to the both of you! me n jay have always wanted to go australia... so maybe we might just have to crash the wedding!!!! lots of love xxxx
20th July 2010

Wait wait wait, there was no mention of romantic moments this part was obviously in his mind, I might have considered going outside if I had realised that it meant a proposal was about to occur. I was completely astonished when he asked but exceptionally happy as well.
21st July 2010

Romantic moment...
Honey what was I supposed to do, give the game away? I may have used a bit of poetic license with my recollection of events, but if the idea of strolling outside along an endless glittering panorama doesn't say 'romance' loud and clear then I don't know what does!
23rd July 2010

Congratulations from the Rounds
Hello Paul, just read this with Mum, Dad is trying to do it on his phone, so may get there eventually. Much as the title says, congratulations from all of us, Mum and Dad are looking at flights at the moment. Thing will get and we will get there. On another slightly less exciting note, although only slightly, Matsrechef Australia made it over here, seen the first series and it's uinbelievable that Chris didn't win. Laters
26th July 2010

Congrats from me too!
Hi Toobz. What wonderful news! Couldnt' be happier to welcome Sarah into the family :-) We'll look forward to seeing you in July for lots of drinkies and a fabbo celebration xxx
28th July 2010

congrats guys, lovely story!!!

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb