An unexpected turn of events.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 13th 2017
Published: March 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I had decided to go to the beach but that went quite a little different.

As I was supposed to go to St Kilda's yesterday I decided to do that today.
This morning I woke up well reseted and made myself some toast.

while watching the news I was planning my trip towards the beach.
Once I was ready I headed towards the tram. While waiting there Jim came up, (older guy I met on day 1 in Australia) we talked a little and it seemed we had to get on the same tram. The stop we get on is just one stop outside of the free tram zone so we had to scan our myki cards. As I went to scan mine it gave a red light but I was unsure what it said, I asked Jim and he said Oh I wouldn't worry its a free zone anyway and went on to talk about the free tram zone. There was a women standing next to us and said "No this area is not the tree tram zone yet. May I see your myki please?" The women seemed to be some kind of conductor and well, I had no credit it seemed. She scanned my card and said I was out of credit (Which does not surprise me as I hadn't put any more money on it yet).

She asked for some ID and said this was an offence, I handed over my drivers licence and explained I was not aware there was no credit left on the card. She asked if I was a tourist as I handed over a Dutch drivers licence as to which I explained I was. She asked where I was staying while at the same time her co worker was handing out a ticket to someone else.
I explained where I was staying and she asked if I had any proof of that on me which I did not. She handed back my myki card and my drivers licence and explained that I was okay to go as long as I added credit on to my myki card before I got on another tram. I thanked her a lot and went on to say Melbourne is a beautiful city as to which her co worker looked up and said "It's okay". She said he's from Sydney ignore him hahah. 😊 we had a little laugh together and they got off the tram.

A couple of stops later I realised I missed my stop during that conversation so I got of at the same stop I did when I went to the shrine of remembrance. I looked at google maps and decided it was not an extremely far walk and it went through some park with a big lake which seemed nice.

I started walking passed the lake and noticed little parrot like birds chirping and walking around, as I continued to walk I started noticing a lot of Rolex sponsorship signs and a widened road with borders around it.
I looked at google maps again and noticed I was walking in Albert Park and was right next to the grand prix circuit.

While walking around the grand prix circuit I noticed ways to get closer and so I headed closer into the area. After walking there for a little while some security guard came up to me and said what I was doing there?
"Sorry am i trespassing right now?" - "Yes you are Sir.", I had no idea that was an are I could not be in as I did not notice any signs saying so. The security guard explained that the building behind him is where the millionaire sit during the races.

He asked me if I was going to the race as to which I explained I wasn't but went on the explain my dad is a huge fan of formula one and if he was in the area he would for sure go. The guard said well if your dad is a millionaire he would sit in that building there otherwise he would be sitter where i'm sitting and pointed to the opposite side of the track and laughed. He explained I couldn't be there because if I got hurt I could sue them and helped me on my way out.

Once I was out the grand prix area I was quite close already to St Kilda's beach and headed there quickly.
Once I was at the beach I noticed a lot of food carts and it had a sign saying they have markets there every Sunday, aren't I the lucky one... it's Sunday today.

Once I was done looking at the market I saw Luna Park which is basically a theme park you can walk into for free, If you want to go on the rides they cost money.

I looked around and left luna park again and went towards the skate park on the beach which is what I wanted to see the most.
There were a lot of people skating and scootering. I sat there for a good 30 minute just watching them skate before I headed towards the beach. I took of my shoes and socks and walked in the water.

While walking in the water i saw that where the food carts were there was also some kind of small festival going on. I headed over there and noticed it was free entry and they had live music.
It was some female singer singing some Amy McDonald songs so I sang a long while sitting on a hay bale.
After sitting there for a while I headed back on to the beach and from there in towards the town again.
I went to get some food at Subways which to my please surprise was not way overprices.

After I had eaten something I walked around and found a Woolworths where I bought myself some tomatoes and some noodles for the evening. I went to the chemist and added some money on to my Myki card and got on the tram back to my hostel. I ate my noodles, grabbed my laptop and here I am writing my blog post.

Today I got quite burnt so I may be getting some sunscreen tomorrow.
I've discovered that Woolworths is a good shop for food and quite cheap compared to where i've been up until now.
Once i've picked up my camper tomorrow i'll be stopping at Woolworths to stock up on some food and drinks.

Every time I write one of these blog posts I have the feeling i'm forgetting to put a lot in. Just experiencing so much in such a short day span is making me quite tired and forgetful, also the heat probably doesn't help haha.

Thanks again for reading!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb