Melbourne and Victoria meandering


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
November 19th 2013
Published: November 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm really enjoying exploring Melbourne, particularly the suburbs around Coburg, where we are. I usually borrow Gaynor's bike and take off to search for....whatever takes my fancy, might be knitting wool, or bookshops, or a whole-food store. I'm finding it easy to find my way around, and there is a useful public transport system of trams, buses and trains which really helps. Our local shops and market are handy, then there are the Farmers markets to find and the CBA, Melbourne's central hub to explore.



Sometimes I'll take off after the school run, or after a coffee with parents at school, they are such a good bunch, and have evidently helped Darius to find his creative "feet" here, he's got lots going on.



Gaynor fixed us up with a long weekend in the Grampians, a three hour drive west, where we stayed in a pyramid shaped house, such fun. The weather was warm so having a lake very close was wonderful, especially with boats to play on, so we all enjoyed lots of time on the water though no success on the fishing front.

We drove up to Mackenzie Falls one day, had a gorgeous walk down to the falls and beyond, and another day visited the Cultural Centre near Halls Gap, where we learned lots about the very unhappy history of the Aboriginal peoples, and the dreadful things our ancestors did to destroy their culture. I really don't think saying sorry, however publicly, is anywhere near enough. We tasted some crocodile, kangaroo burger and yummey lemon myrtle herb tea in the cafe before heading home.



Other times I've been away for longer; One week I took off for several days to the Strathbogie Ranges, a 2 hour train ride away, to stay with a 5W member and her husband. They were delightful... It's always a slight risk meeting up with complete strangers, but this trip I've been so lucky. Kaz and Rick live miles from the nearest tiny Violet Town in a family house sitting on a large piece of land, surrounded by flowers and herbs, a veggie patch with kangaroos grazing on the grassland beyond. I also saw black cockatoos, giant creatures roosting in their trees, taking off like eagles. They have planted hundreds of trees. Kaz drove me around to show me the area, including visiting Euroa during Wool Week, to see the crazy yarn bombing all over town, and to meet up with friends for a birthday in Strathbogie, where we discovered lots of connections, it can be such a small world.



Another weekend I visited 5Ws in Castlemaine, which had attracted my attention as being a sustainable town. They drove me up to visit an Ecovillage, Fryers Forest, developed by David Holmgren amongst others, he of Permaculture fame. A friend of theirs showed us round, they have a 400 acre forest with about 12 sites for houses, most are built, and all in different styles depending on the whim of the owner. One must buy into these sites, so it's not for everyone, and with such spread out housing it's hard to see how one could build community - and hold it together. They share a minibus and have regular meetings, although not everyone takes part.

Fortunately there was a market day in Castlemaine that weekend, and I had loads of fun discovering the arts and crafts stalls, chatting to the artisans, as well as finding the farmers market, so I brought home loads of goodies...wool to knit, and food, Emu oil to help various skin problems, all sorts of stuff.

In and amongst all this I've been much in contact with my dear sister who has been caring for her ailing husband, accompanying him into hospital and eventually being with him whilst he passed away. I realised how shocked I was at this, partly perhaps realising my own potential mortality, brought home in sharp relief. How easy to believe we are immortal! Plus feelings of wanting to fly straight over to her, to give her a hug. That has had to be virtual for now, being realistic!

So when I arrived in Northern NSW, it was comforting to visit friends of theirs who live up here, to exchange memories. And to raise a glass to Nobby's extraordinary life with a GnT, my favourite drink at the moment, (I was introduced to the delightful Minorcan gin by my sister a while back) all very appropriate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



19th November 2013

It's a small world
Hi darlin', Feeling very close to you, even tho' you're on the other side of the world - virtual communications a great aid to jumping distances... Huge hugs and enjoy it all - we'll see each other in the springtime - of which you'll be enjoying 2 this half-year, clever you! Loving hearing all about it and having news of the family there too. Take care, my lovely, and keep on enjoying it all!!!! xoxoxooxoxoox

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb