Melbourne in Winter


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
August 12th 2011
Published: August 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Recently we were in Melbourne for my solo exhibition "Winter Landscapes" at Flinders Lane Gallery. www.flg.com.au The last few years have seen a few travels through Europes winter, contrasted with living in the Middle East, in constant desert heat... however my artwork has always remained focused on the winter landscapes, particularly those from the area where I grew up in Australia. However in more recent times, moving to Queensland, perhaps eventually, my artwork will diverge in to exploring these other landscapes and warmer climates I find myself in more & more...
Melbourne winters are long... & can be a bit gloomy and grey, although often there is sunshine for at least part of the day, there is a good energy and buzz to the city with everyone rushing with a purpose, and the sound of trams rustling loudly through the streets. Dressed in the Melbourne uniform of black , & rugged up with scalves & coats a refuge is found in the many laneways filled with cafes, serving the best coffee and delish food and with backdrops of world class street art and buskers. Degraves Laneway and Centre Place are my favourites, and the beautiful Block Arcade, which is below where I have had my Melbourne studio.
While we were in Melbourne, apart from celebrating at my exhibition opening night, we visited Tarrawarra Museum in the Yarra Valley, for the Archibald National Portrait prize, a Design Trade Fair at the Royal Exhibition buildings, the 150th anniversary celebrations for the National Gallery of Victoria, and a footy game at the MCG! It was a great way to catch up with lots of family and friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 68, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb