The first few days


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 17th 2006
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

3 amigos3 amigos3 amigos

Me, Andrew and Adam respectively
This is an old blog - I've just split them up to make room for the photos

The trouble with writing a blog about things that you’ve only just done is that you remember way too much and get far too carried away. Which is what I’ve done here when I start talking about the great ocean road so I’ll give you a quick outline of some of the things I’ve done first:

Summary:

I’m staying with and spending time with Buzz and Adam who I met in Nepal. While here I’ve taken a look around the city, swimming in the bay, eating fish and chips and stumbling upon a random music concert in the centre. I’ve also been lucky enough to drive myself down the great ocean road where I picked up a crazy Israeli hitchhiker, saw the twelve apostles, locked myself out the car in the middle of nowhere, lost the fuel cap, saw Koalas and went for a quick swim in freezing cold water.

The whole thing:

I’ve been in Melbourne for a week now and I’m staying in Buzz’s house. It’s just out from the city centre and it’s like living in
The view from St kilda towards MelbourneThe view from St kilda towards MelbourneThe view from St kilda towards Melbourne

With great views, beaches cafes and a relaxed atmosphere this would be a great place to hang out for a few days.
a student house again so I’m loving it.

The city is bigger than Brisbane and has a great feel to it. The commonwealth games have just started since I’ve been here so on top of all the normal stuff to see and do there is absolutely loads of other stuff going on.

Since I’ve been here I’ve been down to a place called St Kilda, which is a great place to hang out next to the water of Port Phillip. There are great city views with lots of stuff to see or do. Kate, who is Buzz’s new girlfriend, lives in a nearby suburb called Brighton (lots of places here are named after British coastal towns) so we headed down there to meet one of her friends and then have fish and chips for dinner sitting on the bay watching sunset.

I’ve also had the chance to walk around the city centre and while there I walked into a big ‘street party’ where they had set up a stage and had various bands playing. They were all pretty good and very different. Ranging from a rap group which only used classical instruments like the violin to a very talented DJ (my favourite) to the headline band called Rogue traders who’s lead singer is Izzy (spelling?..) from neighbours!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

A quick dipA quick dip
A quick dip

I made the foolish mistake of saying I would swim if we passed water and Buzz's girlfriend held me to that. Fortunately it was warm and she came with me so it wasn't too bad
HeroesHeroes
Heroes

Me and Buzz's girlfriend feeling proud of ourselves for going for a swim when the others chickened out.
Fish and chipsFish and chips
Fish and chips

A taste of home. And bloody good it was too.


Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb