Last day in Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
September 4th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe that I am going home tomorrow. It was a blast, but I guess it has to end sometime. I have been working alot the last couple of days so today I tried to see as much of Melbourne as possible. I started at the Queen Victoria Market that is huge and had tons of food, junk, cool stuff, etc. I enjoyed listening to a Peruvian band and watching little Australian kids dance around to the music. I then walked over to the Koorie Heritage Cultural Center that had some incredible aboriginal works and a great facility. I hopped on the free tourist tram and then went to Federation Square (that has some really cool architecture) to see the National Gallery of Victoria. It had mainly Australian artists and the Aboriginal gallery was top notch. I then walked over to the Royal Botanical Gardens (huge!) and on the way back to my hotel stopped at St. Paul's Cathedral and heard part of an evensong service. I met up with Dan for dinner and he took me to a cool place called Polly's on Brunswick street that had a fantastic Victorian decor - it felt like going back in time. We then walked over to Joe's Cafe for a delish dinner - followed by another place for dessert/tea. I am exhausted and full! and now packing for the return trip. Not really looking forward to the long flights, but am looking forward to being back in DC.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

cockscomb coral treecockscomb coral tree
cockscomb coral tree

weird tree that doesn't have any leaves


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb