Round One Rotary Meetings!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
June 2nd 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

RC of HamptonRC of HamptonRC of Hampton

Rotary Club of Hampton President Lorraine Huddle
Hello Everyone!

I can't believe we have already come to June 2008! Time is passing by very quickly 😊 Well, in the past few weeks, we have turned in all of our papers, presented all of our projects, and taken any unit tests...we are now in EXAM time! I have to say, I really lucked out with my timetable this semester, because both of my exams will take place this week (2-6 June). During my time off, I've planned a few exciting travels, lots of Rotary engagements, and some volunteer work...which I'll probably post more pictures and stories about, as they come along.

As for now, there has been much happening in my Rotary side of the world. I've just completed several club visits and presentations. It has been so cool to travel to different clubs around the district: each club has such a unique feeling to it.

When I traveled to my host club (Hampton), I felt right at home speaking, mainly because I have known most of the members for so long.

Then I traveled to the RC of Monash, which is a breakfast meeting at a Police Station in Monash. They were so nice
RC of MonashRC of MonashRC of Monash

Speaking at the RC of Monash
and so friendly, and asked many thoughtful questions at the end of my presentation.

I then went on to speak at the RC of Forest Hill: the most formal club I have ever attended! The procedures of the evening were scripted and there were certain times delegated for each topic...we even ended the night by singing the Australian National Anthem! I was super excited to participate in this formal event.

My next visit was to the RC of Doncaster Sunrise meeting. It is usually a breakfast meeting, but was changed to a dinner meeting, so that I could make it (it was far away from Monash Uni). I felt very very comfortable at this meeting: the club is very small in size and everyone knew my name the moment I walked in. They reminded me a lot of my sponsor club, RC of The Foothills 😊

My last visit was to the RC of Chirnside Park. We made the commute of just about one hour away from Monash (through evening traffic) and arrived at this really unique venue, Redgum Gallery. This is an art gallery with all of the products handpainted/woven/constrtucted locally and with only Australian native
RC of MonashRC of MonashRC of Monash

Rotary Club of Monash President Ian Donald
products. I had a chance to look around the gallery before the meeting and I was impressed. The meeting was relaxed and easy going, and many of the members stayed afterwards to talk with me about some future prospects.

With all of these experiences, I'm so thankful that I have the opportunity to travel around the district and meet so many Rotarians. Every meeting is something different and it's exciting to think about how each club has its own flare and uniqueness. With this point being the mid year point in my scholarship, I'm reflecting on all of the Rotary events I've participated in, and looking forward to all of the future events in the second semester!

Along with Rotary club presentations, the Ambassadorial scholars have also had a bit of together. A few weeks ago, RC of Hampton held a trivia night event, to raise money for its local and international projects. I met up with Yumi and Yusi at the event and we had a wonderful time competing in our teams of Rotarians for top prizes. It was a great evening!

This past Friday, we also came together to send well wishes to Ivan, our
RC of Forest HillRC of Forest HillRC of Forest Hill

Presenting at the Rotary Club of Forest Hill
Russian scholar whose scholarship period ended this weekend. Peter and Marilyn Murie (Scholarships Coordinator for the district) and all of the 9810 scholars got together in the City for a really nice evening of Italian dinner and dancing afterwards. It was a great social event for us and something that we will do again very soon!!

Please enjoy the pictures that follow. As always, I hope to continue to send updates throughout the weeks, with all of the new kinds of events that take place. I hope you are all doing well, enjoying life, and having a great time!! Best wishes for a great start to the winter (or summer)!!


Cheers,
Cindy 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

RC of Forest HillRC of Forest Hill
RC of Forest Hill

Rotary Club of Forest Hill President Diane Fisher (the only female in the club!) and President Elect John Donaghey
RC of Doncaster SunriseRC of Doncaster Sunrise
RC of Doncaster Sunrise

Rotary Club of Doncaster Sunrise
RC of Doncaster SunriseRC of Doncaster Sunrise
RC of Doncaster Sunrise

Rotary Club of Doncaster Sunrise President Ian Le Page
RC of Chirnside ParkRC of Chirnside Park
RC of Chirnside Park

Rotary Club of Chirnside Park Past President Judy Eastwood
Trivia NightTrivia Night
Trivia Night

Yumi, Me, and Yusi at Trivia Night
Ivan's PartyIvan's Party
Ivan's Party

All of the 9810 Scholars with Peter and Marilyn Murie
Ivan's PartyIvan's Party
Ivan's Party

Dinner at E Gusto (Southbank)
Ivan's PartyIvan's Party
Ivan's Party

Ivan showing off his going away gift from all of us :)
Ivan's PartyIvan's Party
Ivan's Party

Group pic outside of E Gusto
Ivan's PartyIvan's Party
Ivan's Party

Yusi, me, Yumi, and Ivan together after dinner


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb