Nearing the end...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
July 25th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again from down under (or g’day as they say around here!) There hasn’t been too much going on lately - pretty much same old, same old… At work, I’m starting to wrap up my project - the beginning of the end, as they say. I’ve been finalizing pricing structure and introductory promotions to kick-off the product re-launch, and I drafted up a flyer for the re-launch that Lisa, one of the marketing staff, has created for me. I really don’t have much left except finalizing the marketing plan report, finishing the PowerPoint slides, and writing up notes to practice my 30-minute presentation. I’m starting to get really excited about the re-launch and will have to stay in touch to see its results on future sales.

As for my free-time, I’m managing to keep that pretty full. Last Saturday I took a short drive to see the Brighton Beach bath houses or beach boxes then took a stroll along the main shopping streets in some of the beach suburbs near Clara’s house. Sunday morning I went into the city to check out the market at the Arts Centre and along Southbank. Grabbed some lunch and then went to a show at the Arts Centre. The show was a Broadway musical called “Sweet Charity.” The show was good - funny, great music (“Hey Big Spender,” “If My Friends Could See Me Now,” and “Rhythm of Life,” to name a few), and a couple of really good dance numbers. This past Thursday I went along with Clara to a social reception for the Cancer Council and Relay for Life. It was a little boring but for a good cause. Yesterday I didn’t do much - just relaxed, watched some DVDs, and went grocery shopping. This morning Clara and I went to St. Kilda to browse at the Sunday market and then stopped for tea and sweets on Acland Street, famous for its cake shops with big display windows full of yummy goodies (so yummy, in fact, it’s hard to choose which one to get!)

Over the next couple of weeks, things at work are going to be pretty busy. We have stocktake (inventory) tomorrow and Tuesday, a visit from our biggest customer on Tuesday (dun, dun, duuuuun…), a visit from the Chairman of the Australian Resuscitation Council, visits from people at the New York and Norway offices, and getting ready for the national sales meeting starting August 12. Whew! Next weekend will be busy too. Friday afternoon we’re leaving work around 3:00 for an office reward for getting through the set-up of a major computer system that the company is installing world-wide. We’ll go go-cart racing and play laser tag and then go to a Chinese restaurant for dinner. I’m really looking forward to getting to hang out with everyone outside of work, especially since it will be towards the end of my trip - kind of like an end-of-internship party. Next Saturday I’ll go back into the city to see a few more sights and do souvenir shopping. On Sunday we have a big group of people (mixture of work people and Clara’s friends) going down to the Mornington Peninsula to check out scenery and wineries. Then, the next Friday, my family gets here!!! I’ll get to play tour guide for my parents, brother, aunt and uncle, and grandparents - family reunion! Woohoo!! Can you tell I’m just a LITTLE excited? Actually, the excitement about seeing family is making me start to miss home and all the familiar places and faces (Smiling Faces, Beautiful Places - haha!!) I’ve even started to make a little list in my head of things to do and people to see when I get home. (And being true to my Southern roots, the first few things I’ll probably do involve BBQ, sweet tea, and grits…mmmmm!!)


Advertisement



30th July 2007

Me too!
BBQ is number one on my list when I return to the South!
30th July 2007

Re: Me too!
2 words, Dave: Good man!!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb