Preparations!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Swanston Street
August 2nd 2011
Published: August 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Making plans for my trip has been a long and at times unexpected process. I had my passport all sorted in May, and here i am now, only days before my trip, and it is only today that i am ready to pack my bags. Almost anyway.

I must acknowledge how lucky i am to have this opportunity through my University. I applied in February for exchange to North America, and was accepted into the program. in partnership with the Australian government and CQUni, I have been awarded two full scholarships as well, which is allowing me to turn a great opportunity into the opportunity of a lifetime, and i don't intend to waste it.

I am a bit of an adventure junky, so expect to see a lot of crazy stuff posted here over the coming weeks and months. There will be camping, hiking, jumping, trekking, thumping, bushwhacking, roaring, sailing, and epic failing. And that's just the first day!

Travelling overseas is not as easy, nor is it as difficult as it seems. It just not at all what i expected. From Passports and Visas, to flights, car hire and accommodations; Weight and space limitations, which for 7 whole months, is a real concern for me; Medical check ups and vaccinations, consulate interviews, and the endless need to find the right information for various travel plans, regulations, tourist and event attractions; foreign exchange rates and cash passports, bank accounts; rental lease agreements and furnishing renatl or purchase; public transportation; Friday night relief funding; ...so much more i can't think of right now. Oh, and i have to do my tax before i leave... bit of a pain!

But, its finally here, and i leave on Monday.

My flight will take me through Sydney to Los Angeles, then touching down in Chicago for departure. The flight is 22 hours long. My netbook, a good book and movie, some munchies and my iRiver will keep me company, i hope! Might need a drink if i end up sitting next to someone in need of some deodorant, and something to knock me out for 10 hours+. I wonder what the chemist can do for me there?

Departure date is set, 8th of August. Then i am on my way. I can't wait for Monday to come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb