St Kilda's Beach then straight to Melbourne Gaol do not pass Go and do not collect $200


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
January 10th 2014
Published: January 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This is what is what I want to seeThis is what is what I want to seeThis is what is what I want to see

Jungle Beach - Vietnam- love it - No St Kilda here
So we decide to take a tram to St Kilda's as it is described in Lonely Planet as a most famous seaside suburb and has Melbourne's most hottest properties. All I can say is that going to a beach which is so full of people that you have to make a detour to get to the water is a bit much. Also sardines in a tin came to mind on the sand - do not think beach holidays are for me unless I can find another beach like we found in Vietnam called Jungle Beach where we were the only ones on the beach - think that is the life for me - I must be getting to be a recluse, ha ha

To be fair we had a brilliant meal in one of the restaurants and to be honest it was one of the best we have had in Melbourne but then I am a fish fan and getting oysters for less than £2 in a restaurant is pretty amazing. I think Mike is getting a bit fed up with so much fish on the menus he is more of a meat and potato man.

Anyway we had booked for the night tour of the Melbourne Gaol which is a bit silly as I am scared of my own shadow but hey ho sometimes you have to do these things. It appears Old Melbourne Gaol held some of the most wanted criminals and one of them who was the most controversial was Ned Kelly who they executed and still have his death mask. So we are all led into the Gaol in the dark and there is a lamp with a candle on the floor - at this moment in time I am thinking I do not think this is for me - how in the hell am I going to get out of here without making a fuss. Then there is a banging of one of the cell doors so after jumping so high shouting fuck in quite a load voice I decide "get me out of here" when a man comes running down the prison stairs and starts shouting at us (all play acting, thank goodness). I was quite glad that there was a girl standing next to me who was as jittery as me as it took a bit of heat away from me (make note to oneself find a scaredy cat to stand next to if going to something like this again).

So the actor takes you to the top floor of the prison, remember it is dark and really hot. He leads us into a cell and bangs the door shut. So now I am trapped in a cell with around 40 people it is getting hot, it is dark and I do not like this one little bit. The actor then comes back into the cell and thank god he leaves the cell door open - whilst he is telling us about life in the cell and how many people would be in here I am working out how the hell I can make a quick escape (who do I think I am make a quick escape hardened criminals could not get out of here!!). We are then taken to where they used to hang the prisoners and told how they did it - not a nice thing to hear. The worst part for me was when you had to walk past cells with their open door in the dark - all I could think of was what if someone came out of one - my imagination can run riot sometimes and not for my sanity.

It was a really stinking hot one in Melbourne yesterday but today it is a lot cooler. I think we will walk into Prahban market to get some stuff for a picnic in the park tonight as we are going to the outdoor cinema. I feel like I have walked for miles whilst in Melbourne but to be honest when you have the chance to walk along a river with rowing boats going past and you can see the beautiful skyline why not!

So as we have booked going to the cinema open air ( oh my god us brits or northern brits this never happens) we are going to see Prisoners yes how stupid am I. Last night I had nightmares of everyone trying to kill me or to be honest kill me just like in the Old Melbourne Gaol, how and why do I put myself through this!!!!!! but to be honest a great friend of mine has a cat that has been with her for 15 years is really poorly and lets not say cat as his name is Frankie and can you believe it the non cat person of the year yes me brought him home 15 years ago so proves me and Frankie are real mates! But hope Frankie gets through this.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb