In the Beginning......


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
October 14th 2005
Published: March 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lets take a step backwards. Lets start at my arrival in Sydney airport. Here I sat waiting for my connecting flight to Melbourne. With no power left on my laptop, and not having an adaptor for these new funny power outlets, I was forced to make some conversation with some other passengers to help pass the time. Sure enough I met a guy from Australia, who had been living in Montreal for the past few years. Since I was wearing my Toronto Maple Leafs hat, we got onto the subject of hockey. No problem here. I could talk hockey for hours. Before long, another guy who had overheard our conversation had joined in. Turned out he was Canadian, from Alberta, and his name was Kyle also. So far so good. After chatting with these two guys for about half an hour it was time to board our flight. Sure enough, my new pal Kyle was sitting in front of me a few rows, and since neither of us had anyone sitting around us, we decided to sit together, talking about our new adventures to come. He told me his family lived in Melbourne, and he was moving here permanently. When we arrived at the airport, he graciously offered me a ride to my hostel in St. Kilda, which I accepted. (taxis are very very expensive) Already overwhelmed with the beautiful sunny weather and palm trees I figured I would just roll with the punches. Soon we were heading down the highway with Kyle and his Mom. Instead of taking me to the hostel, they invited me to come to their place for a bite to eat, a shower, which I desperately needed, and a place to stay for the night. I couldnt have been happier. The whole family was very nice, and were more than happy to answer my millions of questions about Australia. So far so good. I had found my family away from home. Of course not the same as MY mom, dad and sis, but nice to have a place to go in case of trouble!!
So the next morning, after sleeping about fourteen hours, we headed for the beach to my hostel where I would be staying at for the next two weeks. And here it starts.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb