Good Vibrations/St. Kilda Festival and Final Thoughts


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
February 12th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola mates!

This is my last blog from Australia! I have absolutely loved my time here. I went many wonderful places and met many friendly people. I just finished my Australian Final Exams and am flying to New Zealand tomorrow morning.

The pictures associated with this blog are from the Good Vibrations Music Festival in Melbourne and the St. Kilda Festival in, surprise, St. Kilda, a suburb of Melbourne. The Good Vibrations Music Festival was headlined by Jurassic 5, Beastie Boys and yes.......Snoop Dogg! The tickets to the show were a little out of my price range, so I headed down to the Festival grounds with one thing in mind----get in for free! After a little bit of liquid courage I walked up to the largest Kiwi (New Zealander) security guard that I have ever seen and asked him, "Hey, would you mind letting me and my 'mate' (Mike) in the concert, we are from the States and love these bands." He looked at me like I was out of my mind and said, "Sure." Sweet. Jurassic 5 was awesome; Snoop's show was great and was like a circus--about 20 dudes rapping up on the stage; but the Beastie
Monash UniversityMonash UniversityMonash University

Yes, this is the front door to the Law School. Looks like an office building from both the outside and the inside.
Boys stole the show.

The next morning/afternoon, I woke up and headed down to the St. Kilda Festival. The Festival was absolutely packed with boozehounds and partygoers galore. I enjoyed the festival atmosphere as I imbibed and danced down the streets and beach. I concluded the night by attending another rap concert (what is with me....); the very popular Aussie band Neso was rocking the stage. Another great night in Australia.

Final Thoughts on Australia:
1) I love Aussie elevators ("lifts"), the door close button actually works.
2) Athlete's foot has to run rampant in this city. I have never seen more people walking shoeless in my life. It is either shoeless or Chuck Taylor's with black/green/navy socks. Disgusting either way.
3) Aussies are extremely laid back. The motto of the country is "No worries."
4) There is 10X more PDA (NOT Personal Digital Assistant...) in Australia than in the States. Groping and making out everywhere. Pretty gross.
5) Fish and Chips (Fish sticks and French fries) are much better now than my recollection of them back in grade school.
6) The concept of personal hygiene and deodorant is lost upon the majority of foreigners I have encountered.
7) I finally understand the game of cricket!! 7 weeks in the making, but now I have a near mastery of the game. No lie. In fact, I enjoy the sport and can recognize players.
8) The bars in Melbourne are hidden. Clubs are noticeable from the street, but the actual, low-key townie bars are absolutely hidden. I was just told about this when I was in Sydney. Literally, the bars are hidden in dark alleys that are only accessible by even darker scarier alleys. The bars all have themes: Eurotrash, Chemistry Laboratories, Military, Stock Exchange......Really awesome bars--I am glad that I finally found them.
9) Never, ever, ever purchase or ingest Chicken flavored "Easy-Mac & Cheese." Without a doubt, the most disgusting food that I have ever tasted.
10) I have seen it rain 3 times in seven weeks. No wonder they are having a ridiculous drought.
11) I am really glad I came here and would most definitely like to return.

Hoping to buy a car and a cell phone this weekend in NZ! I will let you know how it goes......

Lots of Love!
Andy


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Beastie Boys set.....Beastie Boys set.....
Beastie Boys set.....

.....damn tent.
Fantastic DayFantastic Day
Fantastic Day

....dark picture....but great view/day!
Sling Shot 2Sling Shot 2
Sling Shot 2

No, I did not ride this deadly contraption. I am going to claim that the line was too long (and not that I nearly vomited merely watching people do this).
Australian RapAustralian Rap
Australian Rap

This is the Aussie Rap group "Neso". Prior to this weekend I had never been to a rap show. Then I went to two consecutive shows--Snoop Dogg Saturday and Neso Sunday. Ha!


16th February 2007

Love the blogs. Since I will never travel abroad (or amale) I feel like I am there. Love and Luck. Sheila

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb