Another day in paradise - Oops I mean Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » South Yarra
January 10th 2014
Published: January 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well it has been a few days since I have blogged - so what have we been doing? We went to the cinema which was a present from Mike's girls. The cinema was called Hoyts and we did the Director's cinema experience - so you are probably saying what is so special about this? Well I can tell you it is weird but in a good way, you have a private lounge and there is a bar in it and the waitress gives you a menu. Menu I think why will I want that I am only going to see a film but then the waitress asks us do we want drinks and something to eat whilst we are watching the film and do we want it at the beginning, middle or end - this is service me thinks. Anyway we order dips and a glass of wine and low and behold half way through the film she brings them into us. It was great apart from you could not see what the dips were so it was pot luck, ha ha - I think Vue in Accrington can learn a thing or two here - I must have a word with the manager, ha ha

So you are probably thinking what did you see then, well we saw August: Osage County it was a real powerful film and Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts were brilliant I would definitely recommend this film.

We have spent a day in the Botanic gardens which was really relaxing and also tried to see The Book Thief at the outdoor cinema but unfortunately could not get tickets as it was sold out which was a bummer - so we have booked for Saturday to see Prisoners with Hugh Jackman in. I must admit it is not my first choice but how often do you get to see a film in a Botanic Gardens. The gardens are really beautiful and you can even go punting on the river - well you do not punt but someone else does it for you, so to be honest this put me off as I would have loved to punt myself.

We went up the Skydeck which is part of the Eureka Tower. We are trying to go up every tower wherever we go. This one the observation deck is on the 88th floor - now why
The View from the SkydeckThe View from the SkydeckThe View from the Skydeck

See I did do there - even if it was for only 1 minute, ha ha
I do this I do not know as I really hate heights. So there was a part that you could pay extra to go on which was a glass viewing platform which had a glass floor as well as glass sides and it sticks out from the building. So I decide right I am going to do this, that was until I went on another part of the building that was sticking out. It did not have a glass floor and all I can say is my thoughts of going on the glass viewing platform went straight out the window - not only that it really freaked me out and I had to get down from that building as soon as possible - poor Mike had to make a sprint around the building to see the sights.

We found a bar called PJs which I thought was quite apt until it said PJs Sidebar errrr this PJ is never on the side, ha ha.

We were lucky enough to be in Melbourne when they had the Play Me, I'm Yours opening night exhibition. Everyone gathers around 24 pianos which have been painted by different groups/charities. The pianos are
Painted PianosPainted PianosPainted Pianos

Lets start a campaign to get donated pianos in every town/city - are you with me?
played en masse by pianists and then the pianos are going to be moved and situated around Melbourne for everyone/anyone to play. I think this is a great idea as a while ago we were in St Pancras Railway Station in London and they had pianos where anyone could play if they wanted to and whilst we were there they were always being played and also people stopped to sing and dance - it was great to see people stopping and enjoying themselves instead of just ignoring people and getting on with their own lives. Hope this will be the same in Melbourne - we should try to get pianos everywhere - what do you think?

It is really hot here in Melbourne at the moment which seems weird when friends on Facebook are writing about the really cold snap they are living through and others are saying about the torrential rain. I must admit at one time yesterday I would have loved to have had a bit of cold but only for a minute.

Today we are doing the boring things like washing clothes etc as we are due to go to Tasmania soon and on 3 of the days will be on a tour so we will not be able to do the normal boring things.

We are off to the Old Melbourne Gaol on the night tour tonight. For someone who is frightened of her own shadow and has really bad dreams if she watches horror films (which I can tell you the last one I saw was the Exorcist - so you can tell how long ago that was, ha ha) is probably not a good idea.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb