Side Story


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
July 14th 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I apparently forgot to update you guys on my optional day tour to the Sofitel Melbourne Hotel. Both of my professors put this opportunity out there for us "hotel-ees" I am actually half foody. But I'll let it slide! >.<

We had to get all dressed up, so I finally got use of my dress shoes and pants. However I did not have my black socks with me so white ankle socks it was! I tried not to lift my legs up too high when walking or going up stairs so I could hide them. I did a terrible job of that...

So in total there was about 8 of us and we took a tram down Swanson street and turned off onto another street. The Sofitel was hidden by a huge mall and long driveway. We marched down the long brick driveway filled with fancy cars that I have never seen. The first thing I noticed was their blue trees. Yup, that's right....blue trees. So cool.

We walked into the front doors and made our way up the escalators to the lobby. My jaw dropped at the sight of this place. The design of the entire
blue treesblue treesblue trees

Crazy isn't it?
place was amazing! The bar was amazing, the (get this...) bocce ball court was amazing, the front desk was amazing....amazing amazing amazing...

After a few minutes, our two tour guides met us in the lobby. One was part of management and the other was head of A.V. The resemblence between him and our head of Security at the Westin was uncanny. I can't get away from that damned place! They first took us into their main ballroom which had a ceiling that changed color every few minutes....I don't know how they do it, but it had to do with the A.V. guy. I just stared up at the ceiling for a good ten minutes as they talked with us.

We toured the first few floors and then we made a jump from the 2nd floor to the 35th. If you want an eye popping view as you take a pee, go to the rest rooms! I walked into the bathroom and once again, my jaw dropped. The entire backwall was glass. Everything in there was made of flawless porcelin and gold. I couldn't help but take pictures of everything in there. I was just about to set up
lobbylobbylobby

ooohhhh ahhhh
camp in there for the rest of my stay, and order up some roomsevice.

Soon after, they took us upstairs to the suites. First a regular suite, and then after that, the presidential. That's what i'm talkin' bout! And guess what happened when I walked in the door.....I broke a lamp.

No, just kidding. My jaw dropped again. =o)

We all ran around the 5 roomed suite and took pictures. Our guide turned on the flat screen plasma TV which was embedded in the bathroom wall. I ran into the walk in closet, took pictures of the massive bathroom and jacuzzi, WANTED to jump on the master bed, and throw a party in that room. But I could only do some of those things..... No...not the jumping 😞

We made our way to some meeting rooms which had glass walls all around and took some group shots. From there, we made it to the private dinning area which of course had glass walls, fireplace, telescope and smaller private rooms off to the side for reading or tv watching.

I felt like royalty in there; infact...Prince William stayed in the presidential sweet that I had been
Bocce courtBocce courtBocce court

Bocce anyone? I'll destroy you
in!

So yea, Take a look at the pictures, folks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

barbar
bar

Open Bar!
bathroombathroom
bathroom

I'd pee all day here if I could.
bathroombathroom
bathroom

I'd wash my hands all day here too...
bathroombathroom
bathroom

The amazing View out the bathroom wall.
dinning roomdinning room
dinning room

1 of 2 dinning rooms.
dinning roomdinning room
dinning room

I think i'm in love <3
Private roomsPrivate rooms
Private rooms

All of the private rooms are to the left.
the "Let's Play" roomthe "Let's Play" room
the "Let's Play" room

One of the private rooms
Dinning Room2Dinning Room2
Dinning Room2

The Second Dinning Room
PresidentialPresidential
Presidential

Bedroom...ohh that bed is just beggin for me to jump on it!
PresidentialPresidential
Presidential

And this is where the kegs would go. :)
PresidentialPresidential
Presidential

I'm getting one of these in my apartment too....*wishes*


26th July 2006

Blue trees?
Are the trees for real.....blue? Amazing.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb