Doctors...airports...and more!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Carlton North
November 14th 2008
Published: November 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well well well.. I'm a slacker for not writing a blog in so long! Sorry all!

Lets see... what is going on so far?? Well I'm 7 hours away from picking up my wonderful fiance from the airport, and couldn't be more excited. I'm looking forward to seeing him again, as the 10 weeks apart proved to be quite difficult at times. However good for us for getting through it, and once again our powers will unite to tear this town apart! ;-)

In the past few weeks I've kept myself busy. I went up to the mountains... ( errr... well Australia's version of the mountains.. which were cute) with Libby and some of her Uni friends. It was a great time, and it was a wonderful girls only weekend which included lots of wine, chocolate, disney movies, and minigolf. Of course lots of laughter and conversation was had as well, and all in all it was a great time... Even the mild heart attack we all had when our car that was piled with 6 of us was stopped by the police. Luckily we got off scott free and we continued our journey for the weekend! yay!!!

Other than that, I've managed to make myself employed again. Although I'm not exactly wanting to work, I'm happy I've found a flexible part time job that is less than 100 steps from my front door! It's a family run cafe, and the hours are great. Cash in hand as well, so really who can complain! I've only had 2 shifts so far, but let me say working an 8 hour shift after not working for close to 14 weeks nearly had me dying!!!

I've also managed to see a doctor in this country as well. I found myself in a lot of pain about 2 weeks ago as an ear infection took over my life. After 3 days of muffled hearing I'd had enough so I venutred to a doctor who in turn said that the concerts that I was going to plus the cold I had was destroying my ear drum.... NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!! So I went to one last show ( Def Leppard!! And what a wicked show it was.!!!) and then stayed in bed for a week as I let my body heal itself. My new goal is to see a doctor in every country I visit... It was nice this time however that I could actually speak English, and have him understand me as well! hurrah!!!!

Like I said I've also kept myself busy with concerts. I went to see Australia's great Xaiver Rudd, and danced the night away in my 2 foot spot on the floor, and then 2 days later went to see the Aussie Metal/Rock band "the Butterfly Effect" They were awesome! Heavy music, great people just what we all needed .. ( we all means Libby and myself) The next night we were off to Skipping Girl Vinegar which is a local band, of which Libby knows a few of the members. It was their album launch party, and we had a fantastic time. Everyone who was with us got nicely drunk (myself included) and we danced, laughed and drank our way into the night... We recovered that weekend, then attended the Def Leppard show ( as mentioned above) and then rounded the week of good times out with The Melbourne Cup. It is the annual horse race in which Melbourne literally takes the day off to watch a 10 minute race. Quite the spectacle! We hosted a BBQ at our aboad, and had a great time, although the majority of it was spent in bed by me, as my body literally had had enough good times for a while.

Other than that I've spent the days reading, hanging out with my housemates, and meeting new people. I'm really enjoying Melbourne on a whole, and looking forward to the weather getting warmer. It hit 30 a few times last week, and I'm enjoying the heat, as I hear home has started to get snow... I'm not missing that at all.

I think of everyone frequently, and will promise to make a better effort of writing blogs to keep you all posted on my whereabouts.

Much Love
Shannon

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb