Down Under!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Carlton North
October 15th 2008
Published: October 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HELLLLLOOOO!!!!

Well well well! It's been about a week since the last entry! I've made it safe to Australia, and am thus far loving it!
My surprise to Libby (which for those of you who don't know, was an early arrival) went smashingly! She looked shocked beyond belief when I stepped out of the big doors at International arrivals. She was under the impression that her and her mother were picking up a family friend, and instead it was me! The tears were flowing for a while, and it was great to see her so shocked! After we collected ourselves we made our way to her mothers house, for some tea, and laughter. After lunch we went to our new house which is GREAT! I met Tom, my other roommate from London, and found my room cozy and started to unpack right away! How nice it is to not be living out of my backpack for awhile now! hurrah!!!

We all indulged in some wine and beer for the evening, and looked around the neighborhood which includes lots of funky coffee shops, pizzerias, and wine bars. I quickly fell in love with the place, and am very happy that this is where I will make my home for the coming months.

We haven't done a ton yet, as most of our time has been shopping for the house, and getting set up. I went grocery shopping, which proved to be one of the best experiences ever. (who knew buying food could be so fun! I don't HAVE to eat out now!!! yay to home cooked meals!!!) J.M has been looking for a place to live as his g/f will be arriving in a few days now. He is very excited to settle into a place of his own, although is enjoying our place for the time being, as we sort everything out.

Tonight starts a month of concerts for me, as we are going to see a local reggae/funk band called Quinn, and then tomorrow one of my all time favorite artists Michael Franti at a little venue. (little compared to the folk festival and other venues he plays at in North America)

I'm missing the Bali heat slightly as the temperatures are only about 15- 20 degrees here ( I know I know... better than Canada...but it's cold if you are use to +30!!)

Until I have more to write, I'll say so long for now... but no doubt my next entry will be full of exciting tales!

Much Love
Shannon



Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb