Shopaholics


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
December 30th 2016
Published: December 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

We didn't stray too far from our hotel today, but that was always the plan for our first full day in Melbourne. If Albert had his way, this would be every day, but I've insisted in coming days we go a little further and do some day tours, which I am looking forward to.

Most of today was spent next door at The Strand - the giant shopping centre in the centre of Melbourne. We left around 9:30, but due to the holiday period, most shops weren't open until 10. The big stores like Myer were open, and shops on the street, so we wandered there for a while. On the other side of our hotel is a 24/7 post office, which is the most convenient thing for me ever. I have been a member of Postcrossing for about a year now. For those of you who don't know what it is, you send postcards to random people around the world. It's quite a rewarding experience to have mail delivered from all nooks and crannies of this earth.

So, we began our shopping early, and by 10:30, I'd already spent about $200. Oops. I'm not usually a big spender. In fact, I'm the very opposite. I'm what you'd call stingy. But when I am on holidays, I'm a little more lax, and ended up buying some shorts, some tops, a dress and some new shoes. I also got talked into purchasing some skin products by a convincing salesperson, which is very much unlike me. I think I did it because part of me had already decided I wanted to buy some form of skin care product while here. I just wasn't expecting to spend that much.

Albert bought himself some new clothes and Oakley custom sunglasses. The way they do it is cool. You choose your lenses and frame, and they put it all together!

I woke up this morning with a very sore neck, due to an uncomfortable pillow, so I wandered up to Chinatown - just up the road rom our hotel - and found a fairly cheap place. Chinese massages are interesting, for you don't know what you're going to get when you walk in. I accept that, and I don't mind that. Well, I was pleasantly surprised by the one today. I left feeling a lot looser in my neck and back. I can't remember the name of it, but it is in the Target Centre in Chinatown, if you'd like to try it.

While I was gone, Albert wandered the city a little, but returned to the hotel eventually. On the way back, he got a message to say our Kit Kat was ready. And this was definitely a highlight of today. In the shopping complex, there is a Kit Kat shop. A shop solely dedicated to Kit Kats. And what you do is design your own Kit Kats. They aren't cheap - $15 for a bar, but fun. You get to choose your chocolate and 3 ingredients to go in it. You then get to design the box it comes in and personalise what it says. It takes about 3 hours to get ready and you go and pick it up (keep your receipt!). All the ingredients we added (hazelnut, raspberry and marshmallow) are stuck on the back, and I must say... it was delicious! It didn't last long.

Our next stop was taking a walk down to the Yarra River and Southbank. It is a strip by the river lined with restaurants. It is also the place where
Myer Christmas window displayMyer Christmas window displayMyer Christmas window display

This year they had a Luna Park theme
street performers and buskers come. We also saw artists trying to sell their work, and offering drawings of people. We stopped to watch the end of a performer, whose main tricks were his upper body strength. He was able to walk on his hands for a very long time.

We then walked all the way back (about 20 minutes each way) after choosing a restaurant to get ready for dinner.

We were going to walk there and get a taxi back, but did it in reverse. We booked a taxi and when we went out the front to wait, a driver pulled over, so we assumed that was our taxi. A while later Albert got a call asking us where we were. But oh well, we got there.

The restaurant is called The Breslin Bar & Grill. It's a nice little place with indoor and outdoor dining by the river. I ordered a chicken Caesar salad and Albert ordered the duck. According to Albert, it was the best duck he'd ever had, so there's a tip to anybody going there.

We concluded our day by walking back to our hotel and watching the end of the Big Bash match on tonight on TV. Tomorrow we are off to Mornington Peninsula. Hopefully to the beach!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

View of H&MView of H&M
View of H&M

As far as I know the only store in Australia


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb