Smelling Lost Icelandic Horses for Xmas at Great Ocean Road.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Great Ocean Road
January 1st 2015
Published: January 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Lamb chops… how delicious. Australia, you spoil me. Sensational food, wonderful people, incredible sceneries… I just want to eat the whole country up. And on top of all of that I am going to an Icelandic horse farm tomorrow. I’m ecstatic.

Anyway, first thing first. Celebrating Xmas far away from home, in a country where it’s warm and sunny (but where they still spray fake snow on the windows!) and xmas day is on the 25th of December. If I can decide I would like to continue my celebrations down under. I agree that drinking glögg (mulled wine) in front of the open fire with the snow falling quietly outside is a special thing BUT I prefer a yummy BBQ in the sun. See you all at the beach xmas 2015?

We celebrated xmas eve (the 24th) at Micks sister and her family playing board games and drinking cocktails with family and friends. We had a great time with laughter, delicious food (like always in this country) and a lot of silliness. Thank you Lizzie and Brandt

After all the eating and drinking we decided that we all needed to shake off some of the Christmas pudding and beer from our suffering bodies that were screaming for relief… So we decided to go camping with Lizzie and her kids. I love camping. We love camping. Our bodies and souls love camping. We are the happiest when we pack the car, plan our trips and adventures and drive off into new escapades. Medicine for the soul. This time we drove down to The Great Ocean Road. One of the most beautiful cost roads I have ever seen. We stayed at a campsite at Cumberland River. Normally rule number 1 is not to pay for camping but even we can make exceptions. The campsite was perfect for the kids. They could cycle around, play with all the other million kids that were there and explore their way around. We stayed for 3 nights (in a massive 12 people tent), went surfing (I was nicely observing from the beach… I don’t know why a surfboard in unknown water makes me shaky... Have to do something about that), went hiking and cuddled with kangaroos, koalas, birds and a snake. Wonderful wonderful wonderful!

We are now, after New Years Eve Celebration with Mick’s brother (it seems like he has millions of siblings. They are 5 in total.) and his family in Torquay, back home in Frankston. Frankston is our base and it’s nice to be back. Tomorrow I am going to a farm 3 hours west of Melbourne for some more soul and mind treating medicine… I’m going to stay at a farm for some days cuddling, cleaning, smelling and riding Icelandic horses. I didn’t know that they had Icelandic horses in Australia. Best surprise this month. If I miss my plane back to Europe on the 12of January you know why. I might still be smelling horses on a ranch down under.

x

Advertisement



1st January 2015

Hej älskar att läsa om dina och era äventyr!!! Men saknar dej fruktansvärt!!Kraaaam

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb