Great Ocean Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Great Ocean Road » Torquay
January 15th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

G’day!

Before I left the U.S., I was advised by nearly everyone who has visited Australia to “drive down the Great Ocean Road, it is amazing”—those people were 100% correct, it is absolutely amazing!

The Great Ocean Road has been chosen (by multiple travel magazines) as the greatest scenic drive in the world. The Road stretches along the southern-most part of Victoria, Australia. The Road has some of the most breathtaking scenery that I have ever seen.

I decided to make the 5 hour trip a three-day event. I left Melbourne the afternoon of Friday, January 12th with 7 other students (6 of which were in the study abroad program; 1 was a foreign-exchange student from Valencia, Spain named Mickie) in two rental cars heading for the Great Ocean Road.

We drove to Torquay, about 90 minutes southwest of Melbourne, to see the world famous Bells Beach. Bells Beach is considered the surfing capital of the world. It is where “Rip Curl” was first invented/created and is also the home to Australia’s National Surfing Museum. If you have seen the movie “Point Break” (Keanu Reeves and Patrick Swayze) you may be familiar with Bells Beach, as the last scene of the movie is supposedly shot at Bells (actually shot in California), where Swayze dies surfing in the “killer waves” during the 50-year storm. This is where I learned to surf. I received no formal instruction, but after a half dozen attempts I was able to “get up” and ride a wave all the way into shore. It was unbelievable! I surfed for over 4 hours—the first hour was learning and the next three was surfing (as well as wiping out)! It is not nearly as hard as it looks, but it is more fun than you can imagine. I will be surfing at every opportunity I get for the rest of my athletic life!

After surfing, we hit the Great Ocean Road….I will let the pictures/videos do the rest of the talking…

Hope you enjoy!

Peace,
A



Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Camping at the Hostel...Camping at the Hostel...
Camping at the Hostel...

Mine is the blue tent....which I shared with Mickie....very cozy.
Rip CurlRip Curl
Rip Curl

Hang ten dudes!
My dream home.....My dream home.....
My dream home.....

....right outside of the city of Lorne.
City of LorneCity of Lorne
City of Lorne

Beautiful beach town along the Great Ocean Road. Awesome!
Twelve ApostlesTwelve Apostles
Twelve Apostles

Look at the waves.....such force.


18th January 2007

Andy, Love the pictures and the narrative. Sounds like you are having a blast! oh I mean studying hard. Have a wonderful time. Love you.
19th January 2007

Ok, I'm all caught up on reading you blogs (just started tonight). The pictures are great, and its seems that you have put in a good amount of effort writting about your adventures, but I don't believe for one second that you did anything but copy and paste all that crap about Australian government. Looked nice though. Maybe that will be a Club Crainium question some day. Keep up it! Husmann PS I cried when Keanu died in Point Break. It was just so emotional.
20th January 2007

pics
these are awesome pics, dude. i'm totally jealous. why are those called the twelve apostles?

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb