First day of classes and Happies!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
March 13th 2013
Published: March 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So today was my first day of classes, I thought I might be a little lost because the building is so confusing even though I already looked for my classes. I ended up just asking security where my classes were which was much easier than trying to find them myself. I also found out that my friend Mitch who lives across the hall from me was going to be in my classes.

My first class was a tutorial which is basically just a class to do worksheets and apply what you learned in the lecture. Since we hadn't had the lecture yet, it was just an introduction into what the class would be. We introduced ourselves and said where we were from and everything which is funny since I'm the only one on exchange. The professor ended up asking me 50 questions about where I was from and how I was liking Australia and the like. All questions I've been asked a million times. Surprisingly, most people have heard of RI, (unlike the people of NY) they knew it from Family Guy, and they weren't too thrilled that I haven't seen it. One person knew it from Something about Mary and one other person was like oh like the redhead in Miss Congeniality! Funniest part was that it was a guy.

Anyway, after class, I came back to waurn ponds campus since my next class was cancelled and I had class three hours later. That class was more of a lecture and it was just listening to a powerpoint. I found out I had another friend in that class though which was awesome! Class was okay, just like any other class but it was really awkward when I actually spoke because everyone in the lecture hall turned and looked at me because of my accent. Plus my professor kept calling on me because we were talking about culture and she wanted to know what was my culture shock and such things.

On wednesday night everyone went out to celebrate St. Patty's day at a Pub that they call Happies because of Happy hour. I personally thought it was much better than last time. This time I did a lot more dancing and socializing. I was going to go home on one of the busses but I saw my friends Shannon and Meghan who were quite drunk so I didn't really want to leave with out them so I ended up staying with them to make sure they were alright. I actually chatted with them many times throughtout the night because they kept walking around without eachother and would wonder around trying to find the other one. It was quite funny because they would go up to random people and ask if they had seen the other one so I just decided to reunite them.

I only had one class on Thursday and it was another lecture, the other one seems to have to do a lot with Psychology so I think I'm really going to like it whereas this one seems to be more business based. I'm sure I'll still like it, I just like the other one better.

I also have two online classes. One is with my friend Monique and the other one I don't know anyone in which stinks because we had to find a group to do a group projecct. I HATE group projects because I always do the project myself which is why I was happy that the other two classes I'm in have the option to do it by myself. I think it would be good to have an Australian's view on my work to make sure I'm doing it to their standard but I'm sure I can find someone to read my stuff over. I finally found a group, they are both mature age students but I think that might help for a Human Resources class since they'll have more experience. The other class that I'm in with Monique is also really strange since there won't be any lectures online or powerpoints placed online. There is just a bunch of readings and youtube videos to watch. Having never taken an online class, I didn't think anything of it, but Monique said that its really strange.

I think that my classes will definitely be different from at home, but I'm always up for the challenge 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb