I am so bad at this!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
March 7th 2013
Published: March 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Oh my gosh, I can't believe I'm this bad at this!

After Lourne we went back to uni and nothing really changed, there was still practically no one on campus but the internationals. I hung out with Katie a lot along with Jess. We even made tacos for dinner one night and pasta. The RAs joked that we already had community meals all figured out. At night we would just watch a movie or hang out, but it was fun to just be around people finally. In Katie's unit, theres a girl names Monique who is a second year but has moved in because she's head of social council. She is getting us all excited for O-week (orientation) it seems like its going to be a lot of fun with all the activities and everything.

JAFFY MOVE IN DAY!!!! (Sunday, March 3)

So today all the first years (jaffys) moved in. Meghan, Shannon and I were all just sitting around while they were moving in and we felt bad so we decided to help them instead. We helped like three people move in, they had so much stuff compared to us! They had two cars full instead of two suitcases full, but that was how I was my freshman move in day too. After a while, we went over to have free lunch in the common room which was just little mini sandwiches, but they weren't that bad. Plus they had awesome mini muffins so I just ate a lot of those. They are really into drinking OJ here and serve it at every function, so maybe I'll never get sick : )That night was kind of a shocker for me though because they are all allowed to drink, and I'm just not used to that kind of culture so everyone was drinking at night and getting drunk and playing drinking games. Then we made our way down to the band on the green where I sat with them for a little while but also caught up with katie. There is a boy in her unit that LOVES america and was talking to us about it all night. It was actually kinda funny he was answering trivia questions we never even asked. Then we asked for a recap of Australian history and he gave us one that was like a minute long. oh well. he was really nice and I'm glad I met more people 😊

(Monday March 4)

Today we had an orientation meeting where we all sat in a big theatre and listened to people give the speal about Deakin, same as at any other school. During the day I hung out with Katie and Monique and their jaffys, including the guy obsessed with America, Pondi. There was free lunch on the green along with a band so we went down and had a little something to eat. Tonight was a big night though, everyone was going out to this thing called mix and match at one of the clubs. They all wear white shirts and then they have to wear a number on their shirt and match up with the person of the opposite sex with that number. I wanted to go bowling though. So me and a few of the other people all went bowling, in total there were I think 7 of us including me and monique and this other girl on social council Darcie who seems really nice. Two of the under agers (there are only 4) went as well. They were all really nice and we were met by the red frogs, a religious group that goes to our events and gives us gummy red frogs and pancakes and stuff. They weren't going to play, but there was plenty of money in the budget so they all played as well. I scored over 100 twice! It was a good night, it took forever for me to get a strike though which was upsetting, but I managed! After bowling, we took the bus back and then Monique drove to Mix and Match. We missed all the games but man was it fun! I just had a blast dancing with everyone, they played good music and it was funny because when an Australian song came on Katie and I would just look at eachother and shake our heads like nope, don't know this song. I did get a drink spilled on me twice, but I got over that since it was so crowded. The red frogs were here too offering water, red frogs and zupper duppers, which are just ice pops. They have weird names for like everything here, zupper duppers=ice pops, fairy floss=cotton candy, jumper=sweatshirt, trackies=sweatpants, car park=parking lot, grog=alcohol, course=major, unit=class, okay so some aren't so weird, but it gets confusing! Anyway, I ran into some people from my unit who were clearly intoxicated and danced with them a little bit but mostly with Mon, Katie, Pondi, Josh and Julia, all from Katie's unit.

Most of us ended up taking the 1130 bus home and just chilling in Katie's unit talking with one another. I went to bed at like 2 or 3 and my poor RA was the one on duty tonight and I found out in the morning that he ended up having to carry one of the girls from the bus to our unit because she passed out. What a good RA!

(Tuesday March 5)

I had meetings at the Waterfront campus all day today, there wasn't really anything special. It was all for first year students, so about the major and the progression of classes and what not. On one slide about leadership there was a picture of Obama though which I thought was hilarious. They also told students to get the worldly experience and go abroad and I was like check! We had a scav hunt by our RA tonight so the first part was $15 kmart challenge but I was at waterfront for that so I just ended up wearing some pajamas and I fit right in. The scav hunt was kinda cool, it helped us figure out where different places on campus were and we had to do some challenges. It was more of the amazing race than scav hunt, then we went back to our units and drank. I'm really hoping that eases up once classes start.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb