Emirates Stakes Day.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Flemington
November 7th 2005
Published: November 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Stakes DayStakes DayStakes Day

One of the winning horses in the races.
Over 60,000 people turned up to perfect 28 degree weather. I'm $25 richer thanks to betting on a horse named 'Glamour Puss'. LOL. For awhile I made that my tactic - betting on catchy names - until I went for a certain 'Miss Potential' who really did have potential - she lead in the beginning. Then she ended up last.

Some people had interesting dresses and hats. Being 'Family Day' at the races, we were surrounded by really young pretty people, unfortunately some guys - I mean boys - couldn't even fill out their suits, and some young pretty girls looked like they were dressed for daytime clubbing. Just a little bit wrong.

Is it weird for me to say I found the horses more gorgeous than the made-up, nicely-dressed women? They are such fine creatures.

Oh, Valedictum won the Emirates Stakes Cup. I wouldn't have gone for that name anyway. Heh.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

All dressed up.All dressed up.
All dressed up.

Lil and I infront of the mounting yard, where the jockeys get on and off the horses before and after each race.
Young pretty people.Young pretty people.
Young pretty people.

Dresses, hats and suits. Even on the younger ones.
Horses and jockeys.Horses and jockeys.
Horses and jockeys.

Just after a race, in the mounting yard.
Racing.Racing.
Racing.

The racecourse with the cityscape in the background.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb