Walking in Oz


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Ballarat
December 8th 2014
Published: December 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Walking around in Oz is far more challenging than I would have ever expected. I love walking in England and we have considerably less pleasant weather than you'd find in Australia, but it only took me one attempt to discover the multiple reasons why having a car and a licence is a necessity when visiting, in my opinion.

I've written about this on my blog but I feel like I can summarise most of the issues I faced:


• The street was for pedestrians, bikes and cars, which made me feel very nervous.
• The roads are long and with a higher speed limit than I usually encounter in the UK. This means that distance travelled is further than I think.
• There is no lighting for pedestrian streets that I encountered, this became quite frightening after dark.
• Everyone honks at you at night, might have been because I was near Ballarat university but I wonder if this is a regional thing. Also potentially because I was a girl walking alone.
• People really do question what you're doing, I had the police stop and enquire. Very shocking for me, I was just walking around!
• Paths aren't clearly marked in places, directions are not clear for those on foot.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb