Final packing......5 days to go.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Bacchus Marsh
September 14th 2014
Published: September 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well it's pretty tough working out what to take, what is important and what has importance but is just too heavy. I have read blogs, books and scanned guides to try and decide my load, but in the end it is up to me and I have just finished the packing....for now. It could change.

The total weight, including camera, chargers, power pack and iPad peaks at about 9 kilos and I'm reasonably comfortable with that. My final list contains: Backpack, sleeping bag, silk liner, flip flops (for showering and at the end of the day), boots, 3 x underwear, 3 x woollen socks, 2 x trousers with zip off legs, 2 x shirts, 1 t-shirt, a hat, waterproof jacket, poncho, thermal top, down vest, and walking poles. I have also packed very minimal toiletries , a first aid kit including blister treatment (hopefully unused by Santiago), and the usual array of camera and technology that we have become a slave too. Oops, I'm using one now! The phones will be basic mobiles with no internet capacity as they tend to hold their charge longer.

I am informed Sue's packing is very similar, replacing the iPad and camera with bras. She is wearing Kathmandu walking shoes while I am happy with Scarpa unisex boots. They require no breaking in and are very supportive and comfortable. All packs are Deuter packs and are very adjustable with ventilation between the pack and the wearer.

Tim's packing is underway and he is intending to be more frugal than I have been. I'll be interested to see how that turns out; I have trimmed my first list to the bones and will use everything I take. Well, hopefully not the first aid kit.

.....Countdown has begun and next Saturday we fly to Paris via Hong Kong to begin our journey.

Advertisement



15th September 2014

I Feel your pain
My backpack comes to 21 lbs which I can "just" handle ( I'm 240) but have to get a bigger backpack today as we leave the 23rd for Madrid . Best of Luck and Buen Camino! travelblog.org/Bloggers/DeadFred/
19th September 2014

Good luck! See you in 6 weeks!:)
20th September 2014

Enjoy!
Have an amazing trip! Look forward to reading about all of your adventures. :)

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb