GPS GRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Apollo Bay
May 13th 2013
Published: September 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Woke up this morning and the weather had improved and although cold, yes, cold it was at least dry. Decided to go to the information centre who told me the coastal path was just over there!!! pointing to the beach!!! Very helpful!!! Walked along the beach and the pathway on to the next beach still no sign of the coastal path, so decided to go to the Otway National Park. I looked at the map and could see there were two possible routes making a circular drive. So off I trot heading away from the Ocean road up into the hills. Turn left said the GPS which I duly did into something called Torrents Track, it didn't look much like a road but I thought well that's what the GPS said!! Well the road turned into a single lane road very bendy an deep into a beech forest. There were no others cars in sight. After a little while I saw a sign that said that logging trucks share this road. OMG my car I is only small and that filled the road, where am I going if a logging truck comes along I ask myself??. Still I drive on as there doesn't appear to be a place to turn around anyway. Then I came across some roadworks the sign said slow down to 40kms, I thought are they having a laugh you couldn't do 20kms on this road! I asked the guy how long was it to the end of the track, he said I Haven't a clue just keep going. Didn't feel that I had much option now, but was feeling a little more relaxed that there were actually a few human beings about. Started heading down a small hill and there in the road was either a wallaby or a small kangaroo not really sure which as I didn't get a good look at his face. After about another fifteen minutes the forest began to thin out and the road widened a little. Feeling a little better now I continued on. I found somewhere to walk in the rainforest a place called Maits Rest well you needed a rest after that. Then it started to rain again and it rained heavily most of the afternoon. I thought only one thing to do afternoon nap. It's now five pm and its stopped raining let hope tomorrow the weather improves for my onward journey.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb