Now, about THAT photo...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Somerset
March 24th 2011
Published: March 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hmmmm, I am not sure what to say about the photos Paul decided to post on the blog! Just to let you know, I am not in jail, and I have also not had a nervous breakdown (though, to be fair, I probably looked a bit like that last night when trying to update the blog prompting Paul to send me to bed!) The photo was indeed taken in a jail, the Old Melbourne Gaol in fact. We were in Melbourne just for the day, waiting to catch our evening ferry to Tasmania, and decided to do something cultural! Anyway, to cut a long story short, as part of the tour, we were all imprisoned in a cell, and then had our photos taken. Sergeant Blanket (our tour guide) was very insistent we make the photo look authentic, ordering me to tousle my hair, smudge my mascara, and strike the pose - little did I know I could look so authentic! Perhaps I should look at a possible career change (acting that is, not crime). The boys did their very best to look miserable/mean, but only succeeded in looking very cute (except for Paul, but you can be the judge of that one - shame he had just shaven!)

Our stay in Melbourne was way too short, though Paul did manage a quick catch up with an old KES teacher, Phill Joubert, and we also managed to see a good school friend of mine, Fleur Telford. Fortunately we have plans to come back for a longer visit, but only in June. Melbourne is a lovely city, though the driving rules had us a bit flumoxed - U-turns seem to be the norm on these roads, as does turning right from the far left-hand lane, not to mention trying to avoid the trams! - but we emerged at the Station Pier on time to catch our ferry, unscathed.

We are now in Tasmania and will be here for just under a month. We were greeted with mist and rain, but for these couple of days, it is just what the doctor ordered, giving us a chance to catch up on sleep, on emails, school work, and my blog (which I will continue to do now, to catch up on the past couple of weeks 😊 )



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



24th March 2011

I am afraid Alexa you are the only one who can take a good mug shot. I think I would opt for jail over caravaning.
24th March 2011

Jail Birds!!!
Hi All, Wow! Thank you for those photos. The cutest thing I have ever seen. I think William had the meanest look!! Thank you for your blogs. It means so much to follow your journey and Alexa you are a star to take so much time, keeping us up to date with all your adventures. The tears flow because I miss you all especially when i see the photos. A month in Tasmania sound wonderful. Lots of love to you all. Jeanette and Tom
24th March 2011

Envy
Wow - just got back from three days on site in Kalgoorlie and so much to read! The Grampians look stunning (especially the sunsets!) I am very envious of you having a whole month in Tassie - don't miss the new controversial MONA art museum in Hobart. Hugs!
1st April 2011
a1 Proof that I am actually OK!?

great shot
Alexa, you look so happy and well in this pic xxx
22nd April 2011

Melbourne Photos and blog
Dear Alexa, Paul, and boys, It was such a pleasure meeting you all and having a great catch up with Paul in St.Kilda even for just an hour or two. I am following your adventures in Tasmania and onwards with huge interest and I must congratualte you on such a well-written and excellently photographed blog. I am looking forward to catching up with you when you return to Melbourne in June. Safe and happy travels Phill

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb