Two weeks to go!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
May 16th 2011
Published: May 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This time in two weeks Phil & I will be enjoying our first beer at Bec's place with Chris while we wait for the girls & kids to arrive later in the afternoon. Then it will be off to Echuca for the night.

I'm looking forward to putting the bucket seats in the Maverick as the bench seats & my UHF being where the ash tray was means I don't have anywhere to put my stubbie......er, I mean wallet, Phone & stuff. Although by now I think they may have become a permanent fixture of Chris' car being in his boot for the last month & a half.

The finishing touches are going on the vehicles - on Saturday we (by we I mean Phil) put some heavy duty shocks in the Navara & I (by I I do actually mean me, for once) attached the rail for the awning to the Maverick (thanks Phil & Kathleen for the lend of it). Phil had the Navara serviced last week which has guilted me into having a couple of things done myself - oil & filters replaced, diff oils replaced & transfer case oil replaced. My attitude of "she'll be right mate" may not seem so smart when we're 1,000km from the nearest servo & I manage to bugger something up!

Phil has succumbed to the fact that we are going to be pretty low on cash for the trip so certain luxuries like decent beer may go begging. So in true Aussie style instead of striking beer of the lost, he has bought his first carton of Rokeby Red (Toohey's Red) to prepare his taste buds for three months away from Boags Draught. I suspect I'll need to do something similar as the home brew I'll take with me probably won't last the first week. Death bags of Fruity Lexia after that...

In the absence of anything else exciting, I'll put some pohtos of the vehicles up this week as a sort of "before" to the inevitable "after" consisting of scratches, dents & some major engine issues when we return.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1002.3kb