Tasmania - my final Aussie Frontier


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
March 14th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A Real little devilA Real little devilA Real little devil

his name was Flash, ah ha!
In that I have now visited all the states of Australia, unless there is another one that I have not heard of but I don't think so, put it this way I'm not going to go and visit any dependencies. Had to arise at 3am to walk through a not yet asleep Melbourne to get the Skybus and my early flight over to Tasmania, all pretty painless though, I can't speak highly enough of my comftable, hasslefree flight with JetStar (Qantas's no frills wing) so that's a recomendation, only 80 bucks too.

Took the easy 12 dollar bus from the airport (18kms away) into the CBD and arrived at the City Cental hostel on Collins street, bang in the middle of town. had to wait until 1am to get my room so went for a good old wander, up to historic Battery Point and the 'cosmo' section that is Salamanca (groovy name) Rather than sleep that afternoon I had a look round the museum and art gallery which considering it's free is rather impressive, inc the Antartic Exhibition and some superb 19th century artwork (hate to say it but I appreciate those works so much more than the modern abstract material)

Was too tired in the evening to do anything so i sacrificed my principles and watched the hostel telly and did not talk to anyone, but when you've got 'australia's got talent' and 'ugly betty' to watch, my 2 hour a week telly fix was satisfied.

Next day I pottered about, the botanic gardens were worth look, but seemed to be very lethargic, at least I've found a pub here that serves Guinness that actually tastes like what we have back home, not the uber sweet and watery stuff I had in other Aussie towns.

Yesterday I had a cheap car hire all day, a hardly enhancing my image Suziki Swift with 300,000 kms on the dial, crikey! but it did an sterling job on the hilly highways as I headed south. First major stop, deep in the forest for the Tahure Airwalk, high up in the trees, not that vertigo inducing, but fun all the same. Headed south, ended up in a village called Dover, but I still think I've been further south in New Zealand

Made it back north of Hobart to the Bonorong Wildlife park, here I saw the feeding session of the infamous Tasmanian Devil, this old one by the name of 'Flash' wicked little creature, saw the famous scary yawn but he did not make the scary noise that made them so feared in days of yore, another feature was the baby wombat, then the big koala bear, did the tourist patting session and photo opp, (i hate myself for that) The highlight for me though was walking around feeding and petting the tame Kangaroos, i've seen loads in the wild but it was fun to actually meet them, they love nothing more than a scracth on the neck, and was surprised that mother with joey in her pouch came right up for a feed. Allthough I prefer my animals out in the wild the Bonorong are all about saving potential roadkill and injured animals so they are doing a great job, with an educational aspect to temper the 'petting zoo' theme.

One more day in Hobart chilling out then it's on the road up the west coast towards the ferry back to Melby.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Tourist T**TTourist T**T
Tourist T**T

wonder what he tastes like with mint sauce
Kangaroo Close UpKangaroo Close Up
Kangaroo Close Up

they were attracted to my nuts
Hobart PierHobart Pier
Hobart Pier

Early evening light


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb