If You Could Go Anywhere Right Now, Where Would You Go?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart » Rosny
May 9th 2020
Published: May 9th 2020
Edit Blog Post

So, during this "shelter in place" or quarantine period, many friends have asked me this question. My short answer is: I would go anywhere it is safe, and happy. Narrowing it down, I would say New Zealand, Thailand, and Cape Town. Why? If things were safe everywhere, where would I go? How about the Uyuni Salt Flats in Bolivia, Tasmania, and Yerevan, Armenia. But reality speaks loud and clear! New Zealand is clean, not heavily populated, and loves the outdoors. It feels safe there, yet far enough off the beaten path to avoid pandemic issues. Thailand, simply has the number one rated hospital in the world. Add to that, great food, nice people, world class shopping, and a very interesting cultural explosion. Cape Town, home to Barry the V, means I would be treated like a Prince at Chez Varkel. A previous two week visit was one of my best vacations. Unique culture, wine tasting, humorous Barry, beautiful home. Here I come, Barry! All kidding aside, I think, in very short order, we can begin to think about hitting the road again. Many travel experts say we will literally hit the road, taking RV, and car trips, along with camping. Others say the airfares and hotels are so cheap, long distance travel is the preferred trip. You decide! Let me give you a few examples: London $332Rome $376Istanbul $206Moscow $378Dublin $252Hong Kong $384Kuala Lumpur $483Tokyo $546Saigon $420 Rent an RV for only $140 per night. Take Amtrak from California to Chicago for only $136. You think I can find a bargain on the Orient Express? Options are numerous, but you must act now. Hotel prices for summer hot spots are already "over the top" expensive. Airfares will soon follow. Use those miles you have been hoarding. Stay safe, and have fun!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 31; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb