Ozone Baby


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Bruny Island
November 22nd 2010
Published: November 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I heard it is unbelievably cold in Vancouver. Everyone's Facespace and Mybook updates are saying that their noses are falling off and their eyelids are freezing shut. Hmmm. I think I figured out your problem. You see, you have this silly little thing called an 'ozone layer" protecting you. Over Tassie, we don't. And because of that, IT'S REALLY REALLY HOT!
Right now it is noon, and it is 30 degrees. And it feels a lot hotter. Too hot to even wear clothes. I got my haircut yesterday and the barber kept lecturing me about the ozone and how I'll burn in minutes. More like evaporate completely or melt like Wicked Witch of the West! "Oh, what a world, what a world..."
So a word of advise: if you want to be warm, CFCs are your friend.

OK on to the news...
Our shipment from Vancouver finally arrived. I'd had forgotten what we had shipped, so it felt like Christmas opening up all of our boxes and finding all our stuff. Everything arrived in good condition. Even my guitars arrived in near-perfect tune.

Nina has been busy enjoying her job, and I've been searching for my own (with some success so far).

The main story of this week's blog is my trip to Bruny Island last weekend with Nina and a friend of ours from Wales. Bruny is south of Hobart, and its vibe is very reminiscent of the Gulf Islands. We drove south from Hobart to a place called Kettering (think Horseshoe Bay) where we caught a ferry over to the island. From there we spent the day exploring. Imagine Bruny as two islands connected by a really thin sand isthmus. On the Neck, as its known, there is a lookout where you can get an amazing view of both bays created by the isthmus. One bay is shallow, pale blue, and filled with black swans, whereas the other side is deep, dark blue, with beautiful surf and penguins. Unfortunately, all the penguins were off marching or showing off for David Attenborough, so we didn't see any. It was a shame really, because I had spent a considerable amount of time practicing my Danny DeVito waddle, hoping I'd fit in. I guess it'll have to wait for next time...

We also found the spot where Captain Cook first landed in Australia. It is in a place called Adventure Bay. There, Cook founded an RV park that exists to this day. After that, I ran over my first Australian animal. It was a skink. Poor little bloke. But I made up for it later by missing a pademelon by a whisker. Also saw a dead tiger snake on the road! We saw lots of other alive wildlife such as possums and echidnas, which are egg-laying hedgehog thingies with funny noses.

We camped Saturday night, and resumed our exploration the following morning. We went to a cheesery, which is like a winery except they grow cheese. Bruny is famous for its cheeses, so we bought a ridiculous amount (enough to make a German happy). We then caught the ferry back to the mainland and and drove to Huonville for lunch. I mentioned Huonville a blog or two ago. The Huon Valley is breathtakingly beautiful. They have an apple museum there, but because I had this image of Ned Flanders with his lifetime membership card (no. 00001) in my head, we decided not to go. See the following video clip:


Enjoy the pictures of our nice weather. It may not last. The weather is expected
to dip slightly below 20 degrees here later this week. Burrrr! Fortunately I have a long sleeved t-shirt.

Ciao!










Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Penguin BeachPenguin Beach
Penguin Beach

minus the penguins


23rd November 2010

hmmmmm
Such great adventures may accerate our plans for a visit! We haven't heard about the people you've met - could that be the topic of an upcoming blog?
24th November 2010

Amazing Adventures
Sounds like you are having a terrific time and soaking up what that part of the world has to offer. Wear that sunscreen Fraz! You too Nina! We love and miss you! oxoxoxoxox

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb