Roadtripping down Yorke peninsula, South Australia, day two.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Yorke Peninsula
January 3rd 2017
Published: January 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

The very next day, after spending the night at Moonta bay I packed up my camping gear and set off in the car to Ardrossan. This is a 50 KM hop across the Yorke Peninsula. Observing the lovely green scenery as I drove the 35 minutes to town, I was awe inspired by the fact that we have such lush greenery during the winter months here in South Australia. Upon arrival I was greeted by the caravan park manager, who showed me where I will be staying for the night. The camping ground was small pebbles, but that didn't matter because I had a comfy mattress in my swag. As you will see from the photos the caravan park was very nice and even had a creek that ran through the middle of the caravan park. There was a foot bridge you could walk over to get to the other side of the park. The frogs croaking in the creek was magical and so relaxing. The facilities of the park I would rate at 9/10 as the service was second to none and everyone was friendly. The only issue I had was the camp kitchen which had limited stuff. There was only a fridge, kettle, toaster and a sink, but well I guess I couldn't complain too much. Better than nothing. After setting up my camping gear and having something to eat, I set off down the coast to explore what the Yorke Peninsula had to offer. Although I didn't get to see everything I still thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon drive. Just outside Ardrossan lies a lookout of which you could almost see around 360 degrees. From viewing the gulf of ST Vincent to overlooking the mines, I felt spoilt for choice. I continued down to a little town called Port Vincent. It was a very quiet town, although it was a Saturday afternoon and some businesses were closed. I went for a small walk along the beach before getting in the car again and driving further to explore more. Down the bottom half of Yorke Peninsula was very green and I got a good country feeling as I drove with my music pumping in the back ground. I had to skip some locations due to time constraints, but I eventually arrived at a place called Port Turton. It has a really good walking trail, next to the water and I spent nearly two hours talking to people and enjoying myself. It was getting late in the afternoon by this stage so I started the 40 minute journey back to Ardrossan. Once I got back into town I viewed some old farming machinery in the middle of town. I found this quite fascinating. For tea I had a hamburger with the lot, which was very yummy. After resting up at the caravan park I went for a leisurely walk around the town's foreshore. I was awe inspired by the red n orange glow from the city lights of Adelaide which is 90KM across the gulf adjacent to Ardrossan. The night was a little chilly but was worth it. I took advantage of the camp kitchen where I set up my laptop and watched movies til well past midnight. The next day I had to head back home, but I do recommend the Yorke Peninsula as a place that people should visit. It's very family friendly and suits all budgets. I rate my all time experience a 10/10.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb