Day 1 - Melb to Port Augusta / Kakadu Trip


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Port Augusta
June 29th 2018
Published: June 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

White KangaroosWhite KangaroosWhite Kangaroos

White Kangaroos at a reserve in Bordertown South Australia
Day 1 - Left Melbourne at 5 am with 1,078km to drive. Nothing much in this trip although the first 200 hundred kilometers was a little scary due to fog. It was dark and foggy and the sun was still asleep so could not see much at all. Let me just say my attention level was so high I should have got a headache from concentrating too much. It was pretty funning thinking back to this morning. My wife was relaxed in the passenger seat having a catch up sleep and here I was fully awake with eyes popping out of my head with concentration to ensure I stay on the road and within site of Xavier‘s ute. I was just lucky Xavier was paving the way in front of me and all I had to do is try and keep up with him. Once the sun came up and the fog lifted it was a reasonable drive noting that i did not see any notable local wildlife. Except for animals at a zoo in Bordertown I only saw two Kangaroos on the side of the road (yes they were alive). I suspect as we get further up North we will see more and more roadkill. We did see plenty of sheep and even dairy cows. The cost of progress. The highlight was the spotting of WHITE Kangaroos. Now we are used to seeing kangaroos here in Australia but white ones? Well I have never seen so many white ones in one spot. Bordertown is a town you would miss if you blinked so seeing these kangaroos have put it on the map for us. The town is located close to the Victorian/ South Australian border. Arrived in Port Augusta at 5pm. Dinner at a local pub. Now time for bed to prepare for another big travel day tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb