Heysen trail - Parachilna gorge


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Parachilna
October 8th 2005
Published: October 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The first marker of the Heysen trailThe first marker of the Heysen trailThe first marker of the Heysen trail

Yes I am holding the camera to photograph myself at the Parachilna Gorge.
A personal highlight of the trip for me was to walk (however briefly) the first part of the Heysen trail at the Parachilna Gorga.

Since turning 40 I have had a plan in the back of my mind - to do as much walking of the Heysen trail (1200 km long!) where and when I can. This long range trail goes from Parachilna Gorge in the Flinders Ranges to Cape Jervis in the South. More information ....

We had a break in the 'all day grazing' at the Parachila Pub, renowned for its feral animal menu, before heading east into the Ranges. When we arrived at the Parachilna Gorge and the start of the trail, the weather was still bad - very windy - Peter and Dan didn't even get out of the car! No matter, I was given a few minutes frolicking time and thats what I did! The photos are taken with a self timer balancing on rocks and the like. It was late afternoon, but the sun had broken through the showers to allow some colours to display on the rocks of the gorge.

Dan did come out to tell me to hurry up and get out
Very excitedVery excitedVery excited

The gorge wall in the shadow behind me appears dull here but shines orange in the sunlight.
of the wind.

Dan says ....




When I was at the Parachilna Pub I had some Fruit tea (sounds like fruity). Ahhhhh so refreshing. The Parachila Pub had great meals such as goat burgers, camel, kangaroo, emu and prickly pear icecream.

Oops, sorry if I lost you there.

Mum should have hurried up and been a bit quicker - she could have got sand in her eyes.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The first creek crossingThe first creek crossing
The first creek crossing

Set the camera on a wonky rock for this one - but you get the general idea.
Parachilna is on the map!Parachilna is on the map!
Parachilna is on the map!

This is another image built on Google earth to show home and Parachilna Gorge.


Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb