Coast & Vines


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » McLaren Vale
February 10th 2012
Published: February 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Had a wonderful opportunity for a break at a Christies Beach house where we could do some solid walking for 3 days.....We decided on wearing boots and backpacks - had INTENDED on walking with the poles but that didn't happen... I am still trying to get the backpack sorted into its most comfortable position with strap adjustment / way that it is packed etc ... the pack is a Deuter 65L, and specifically designed for women.... this allows for narrower shoulder width and a more curved hip belt. It can be adjusted for varying back lengths....it weighs just over 1kg..... which NOW seems a little heavy for our purpose of walking for 5+ weeks.... many others on the Camino forum walk with ULTRA light backpacks...but I'm sure it will be ok.... the trick is (apparently) to pack so heavier items are snug into the mid back, allowing the hips to take the weight .... but as I havent yet done a full trial pack with eveything I want to carry , organising/trialling that is still a work in progress..the aim is to trek carrying no more than 10% of your body weight...

The pace was a comfortable one with great walking weather 20-22 degC ... and we dawdled intermittently- stopping to take pics of surfers/birds/scenery, have coffee etc ... The Sony Cybershot camera (DSC-HX9 ) we both have we chose after a fair bit of research online, trawling forums, Diane and Sister checking one out in a local camera shop. We would have preferred to purchase locally but honestly the temptation of being able to buy a $470 camera for $160 less online from overseas was just too hard to resist.... so we didn't. Anyway - we are both becoming familiar with its use so by the time we head O/S we are fully competent in using it. The camera takes good pics and interestingly I notice the difference when uploading to my laptop as opposed to the little MacAir i have.... the colours are more pristine, pics looks sharper etc on the Mac



Relaxation at days end involved feet up, wine sipping/food nibbling , sunset watching AND noting birds flying left to right -( which they seem to do wherever I see them on the coast at sunset - and its the reverse in the morning)





Day 1 from Christies to Seaford and back -15km





Day 2 Christies to Moana and return -18km





Day 3 McLarenVale to Willunga along the 'Shiraz Trail' - part of the Coast to Vines Trail about 20km


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

RelaxingRelaxing
Relaxing

Barefeet , wine and sunset
Port NoarlungaPort Noarlunga
Port Noarlunga

part of the Coast to Vines Trail , it's a great walk from MclarenVale to Willunga through vineyards - no traffic , well, motorised traffic - the trail is shared with cyclists
DSC00980DSC00980
DSC00980

Di and backpack
DSC00985DSC00985
DSC00985

camera at the ready!
DSC01008DSC01008
DSC01008

praying to the Gods of Wine
DSC01012DSC01012
DSC01012

Fuitful


11th February 2012

great pictures jacqui
hi jacqui i dont know what i did but i pressed a button and god know's what happened ? so if you only got some of my message the first time i apologise to you , anyway the pictures turned out well ..... the wine and nibbles sound just the way to go after the walk too , yes i do like the one of di praying to the gods of wine. i will be looking forward to your journeys blogs........cheers jon
11th February 2012

Impressed
Impressed I am with your ability to get a message through to me via here.... I know its confusing struggling through how to do/where to click etc..... I've lost a couple of early posts, though Im getting the hang of it now :-)..... I'm going to subscribe you which just means you'll get an email to know when the blog is updated - save you checking unnecessarily...... 47 days to go!! Cheers Jacqui
11th February 2012

sistHairs...
I think you two are twins from two mothers...:-)
11th February 2012

Re Sisthairs
Yep definitely , except Di gets up earlier, is tidier... and (marginally) OLDER !!! lol lol
12th February 2012

Hello again!!
Hi again! I was just wondering what your count down is?? Your blog just popped into my mind because I have just been granted two months leave from my job and while I was thinking about a trip to Central America, I cannot stop arguing with the little voice in the back of my mind pushing me towards finally walking the camino... Right now it is a def possibliity; however, I must make up my mind soon as I leave for (where-ever I decide) in five weeks!! Hope all is well and good luck once again :) And who knows, maybe we will cross paths.
13th February 2012

Countdown continues
Hi again..... we are leaving Adelaide Australia on 29th March, arrive London Sat morning 31st then will make our way to St Jean Pied de Port on the Monday the second and start walking the camino on April 3rd ....so that is 45 days until we leave!!! Feeling VERY restless right now.... Can't wait! All is well , Diane and I are walking all we can..... Would be very cool if we can cross paths somewhere along the way though I think you may be a couple of weeks ahead of us if you DO start the Camino Frances... Good luck with your decision :-) Cheers Jacqui
12th February 2012

Keep up the trekkin!
The practice looks like you are having fun. Last photo, good job had explaination, thought doing a wee wee!

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb