Main North Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Flinders Ranges
April 30th 2011
Published: April 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am in the southern Flinders Ranges tonight and it has been great getting here. I took the Main North Road out of Adelaide and this is where it takes you. You pass through a lot of lovely little towns on the way too and there is a lot less traffic than the Port Wakefield Road. More info may come if I ever feel like writing it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

tb3tb3
tb3

A cool little trestle bridge for an old railway line that isn't there anymore.
tb2tb2
tb2

This is one end of the bridge
tb1tb1
tb1

This is the other end of the bridge.
tb4tb4
tb4

Further up the line I saw some old rolling stock.
tb5tb5
tb5

A general store in Georgetown with possibly the happiest old man in Australia working there. I got a shepherds pie here!!
tb6tb6
tb6

I think it had a paint job. Perhaps a 100th birthday present?
tb8tb8
tb8

This is a town called Melrose at the foot of Mt Remarkable - which actually is quite remarkable. It was the first town in the Flinder's Ranges. We are approximately 400 metres above sea level here
tbbtbb
tbb

This fella obviously has very good taste in cars! He has approximately 30 Land Rovers.
tbdtbd
tbd

At Hancocks Lookout. This photo was taken 525 metres above sea level and looks out over the Spencer Gulf. I once again wonder why I've always driven on the Port Wakefield Road every time I've gone from Port Augusta to Adelaide.


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb