Adelaide Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
January 31st 2017
Published: January 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today I spent the entire day in the beautiful city of Adelaide. We started with a discussion of Aborigine rights and problems in Australia which parallel those of our native American Indians. Following, we had a free day with the option to do things such as a tour or Australian wineries. I chose to simply relax and explore Adelaide by walking around this beautiful city.

Interesting to me is the structure of the city was engineered before it was built. The city is build on a grid north to south, east to west. Since this is a very warm part of Australia, East to West streets take advantage of the winds coming from the mountains to the East, bring cooling to the city during the day.

I visited various sites in the city. In particular, I made sure I visited the Adelaide Oval, a Cricket Ground in the summer time which seats over 100,000 spectators. My son, Andy Knott, learned to love Cricket while we lived in Europe in the late 90's.

I have posted various pictures from this beautiful city. Andy, I have included the Cricket Ground.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb