Australia: Land of Meat Pies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
September 2nd 2006
Published: September 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Not surprisingly, I never finished the Hokkaido set. Maybe I will once I get my own computer. I did take some nice pictures in Kyoto, so I'll try and get those up, but this photo upload system is so inelegant and time consuming.

Anyway, I'm in Australia now, and have been for over a month. I spent a few days in Sydney, where I visited Koala Park, saw Superman, and played videogames with an Australian friend from Japan, then caught a cheap plane to Adelaide, which is a couple hours west of Sydney, I believe.

I eat lots of cereal, filling the void that Japan created, and can again afford to eat vegetables and fruits. However, overall, I find the food selection here to be lacking. The most common lunch item is the meat pie, or a sausage roll, both of which do not appeal to me very much. I like them, but only on occasion. There is definitely a greater range of foods available here, but I miss the staples that I became accustomed to. They don't even have gyoza here.. it's everywhere in Vancouver.

It's difficult to find a job, at least outside of fruit picking, so I'm still unemployed. I just moved into a house, sharing with one other person. It's huge, and really nice. Costs $100 more per month than the 5-person room in Japan, and includes all utilites,net,etc. I have taken photographs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

WombatWombat
Wombat

Wombat's are very chunky, and lazy too, I think.
DingoDingo
Dingo

Yes, everyone knows the baby line.
EchidnaEchidna
Echidna

Strange creatures. More versatile than Sonic.
ThingThing
Thing

Not sure what this is, but it looks almost prehistoric.
KangaroosKangaroos
Kangaroos

They eat them. I tried it, it was good. A bit gamey.
Nap Time 2Nap Time 2
Nap Time 2

Wombat. Lazy.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Opera House
My RoomMy Room
My Room

The chair should be indicative of the scale of it. Very big room. I got that big lump of bedding, quilt/sheets/blanket/etc for $31 at the Salvation Army. I was pleased.
BikeBike
Bike

I got this for $56 on Ebay. It's a nice bike, worth well over that.
Backyard 1Backyard 1
Backyard 1

There are mandarin,orange,almond,fig, and lemon trees.
NeighbourhoodNeighbourhood
Neighbourhood

Very nice area. 15 minutes on bike to the city centre, lots of trees and parks, shops and library within 2-5 minutes.


30th January 2007

wattimus prime is pleased!
but dammit, we need more frequent pictures and updates!

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1132s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb