Another remarkable milestone, celebrated by the Commonwealth Bank


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
January 24th 2012
Published: January 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

If I heard that phrase once today, I must've heard it a thousand times... every time someone hit 50 runs or multiples thereof, 50 partnerships and again, multiples thereof, Ricky Ponting reaching 13,000 test runs over the course of his career etc. The Commonwealth Bank are sponsoring today and don't you know it when they drum that same phrase down your ear every 5 minutes!

If you hadn't guessed, today I've headed off to the Oval to watch the test match between the Aussies and India. The series is already over but on a baking hot day here in Adelaide, what better thing is there to do than sit in the sunshine watching cricket?

The ground here in Adelaide is beautiful - a very traditional cricket ground, with open sections of grass for you to lie back on and enjoy a picnic rather than sit in the plastic chairs. My spot was in the baking sun - it's 37 degrees here today so I'm covered top to toe in sunscreen and having to reapply it every 30 seconds. As my luck would have it, my seat was next to yet another enormously big woman, but fortune was on my side in other ways as there were tons of free seats in the sun, where their occupants had dived a few rows back to get some shade.

I managed to work my way through about 4 litres of fluid as the heat was unbelievable. But the cricket was worth it - Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke both getting centuries was great to see. At tea, I saw something even more remarkable in Brett Lee, fast bowler and not-too-hot batsman, managing to hit a cricket ball 50ft and through a 3ft diameter target hole. Vodafone, the sponsors of that little bit of entertainment, clearly thought he stood a cat in hell's chance of hitting it as they put up a $10K prize to go to the lad tossing up the 6 balls for him to hit if he made the target....

I headed off just before the close to get back to Glenelg, where I'm meeting up with Paul and Jules's friend Katherine, for a walk around the lake with her dog Molly. A gorgeous evening, we had a glass of wine before we set off and a few more when we got back. Half way round the walk it was still so hot, we just stood fully clothed under one of the beach showers just to get cool. Clothes were dry again within 15 minutes.... It was really lovely to see more of Glenelg though and Katherine was a great host - I might have depleted her wine supplies a little though, so not sure I'll be invited back soon...!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb